The Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela


Warm greetings to all my friends and lovers of architecture and design at Hive! I have made many posts inspired by the city of Santiago de Compostela from my trip to Spain a few months ago. I had some very pleasant experiences in Galicia that I will treasure forever, but none has been as amazing as getting to know this imposing cathedral. I had to start the post with this picture of the facade, but this post is about what I have not yet shared on Hive until now, and that is the beauty of the interior of the church.

¡Un saludo cordial a todos mis amigos y amantes de la arquitectura y el diseño de Hive!. He hecho muchos posts inspirado en la ciudad de Santiago de Compostela de mi viaje a España de hace unos meses. En Galicia tuve experiencias muy gratas que atesoraré para siempre, pero ninguna ha sido tan sorprendente como haber conocido esta imponente catedral. Tenía que iniciar el post con esta fotografía de la fachada, pero este post trata de lo que aún no he compartido en Hive hasta ahora, y es la belleza del interior de la iglesia.


Cathedral Dome


I did not enter the cathedral through the central nave, but through one side, I never knew why. The doors in the facade area were closed, but once inside I went to the aisle that led to the altar and the first thing I did was to raise my eyes to the dome. I was very impressed with all the details of the place. It is little of the historical aspect that I knew, I was very focused on work and taking pictures, but evidently the architecture was gothic and there were many details of baroque elegance.

No entré a la catedral por la nave central, sino por un costado, nunca supe el por qué. Las puertas en la zona de la fachada estaban cerradas, pero una vez dentro me dirigí hacía el pasillo que daba con el altar y lo primero que hice fue elevar mi mirada hacia la cúpula. Estaba muy impresionado con todos los detalles del lugar. Es poco el aspecto histórico que conocí, estaba muy enfocado en el trabajo y en tomar fotografías, pero evidentemente la arquitectura era gótica y había muchos detalles de la elegancia del barroco.


Cathedral Organ


In the middle of the central aisle is the cathedral organ, I don't know if it was one or two, but as you can see in the pictures above the big pipes are arranged facing each other. Over the pipes there are many small angels that make you feel in the baroque era and all the colors are distributed between the silver gray of the concrete walls and the gold of the artwork, with some yellow beacons and the white light inlets in the domes that finish creating the gothic atmosphere. A striking beauty.

En medio del pasillo central se encuentra el órgano de la catedral, no sé si era uno o dos, pero como pueden ver en las fotografías de arriba los grandes tubos están dispuestos unos frente a los otros. Sobre los tubos hay muchos pequeños ángeles que te hacen sentir en la época del barroco y todos los colores se distribuyen entre el gris plateado de los muros de concreto y el dorado de las obras de arte, con algunos faros amarillos y las entradas de luz blanca en los domos que terminan de crear el ambiente gótico. Una belleza impactante.


The Cathedral Altar


I think that after the façade of the cathedral, the altar was the second thing that impressed me the most, and I still can't believe that we sang in such an impressive place like this, right in front of the altar, with an audience appreciating the music in the center aisle and on the sides, they didn't see us tasting, but they were there in the cold of the early spring night appreciating the cotral sound that traveled through every corner. The floor of the altar was black and white checkered and absolutely everything there was golden. The image of the apostle that gives the cathedral its name was in the center, surrounded by many angels, you can appreciate it a little more in the pictures below, simply a dream, it is a dream come true to be there.

Creo que después de la fachada de la catedral, el altar fue lo segundo que más me impresionó, y aún no puedo creer que hayamos cantado en un lugar tan impresionante como este, justo frente al altar, con público que apreciaba la música en el pasillo central y en los laterales, no nos veían catar, pero estaban ahí en medio del frío de la noche del inicio de la primavera apreciando el sonido cotral que viajaba por cada rincón. El piso del altar era de cuadros blancos y negros t absolutamente todo ahí era dorado. La imagen del apóstol que da nombre a la catedral estaba en el centro, rodeada de muchos ángeles, pueden apreciarlo un poco más en las fotografías que les dejo aquí abajo, simplemente un sueño, es un sueño hecho realidad estar ahí.



In that structure that the angels are holding there is a whole corridor that runs from right to left. A place considered very holy and of course I walked through it, only that the use of phones to take pictures was forbidden. In that aisle a tour guide told me that the remains of St. James the Apostle rest under the altar. Behind there was also a huge walkway with many works of art, and in that area it gave me a more medieval impression, here below I share with you some pictures:

En esa estructura que están sosteniendo los ángeles hay todo un pasillo que se recorre de derecha a izquierda. Un lugar considerado muy santo y por supuesto que lo recorrí, solo que estaba prohibido el uso de los teléfonos para tomar fotografías. En ese pasillo un guía turístico me dijo que los restos del apóstol Santiago reposan bajo el altar. Detrás también había un inmenso recorrido con muchas obras de arte, y en esa zona me daba una impresión más medieval, aquí debajo les comparto algunas fotografías:



Definitely Santiago de Compostela was a special place, and not only because of the Cathedral, everything in that city is magical. This is one of those places that you visit and promise to come back. I arrived to the city by plane and went by road to Oviedo, but I would have loved to do the Camino de Santiago, which by the way I enjoyed it recently through the blog of one of my Hive heroines, @enmy, to whom I send a special greeting, and I apologize for mentioning her, but she made me remember that I still had this marvel of architecture to share. Thank you all for joining me on this tour of the design of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, I hope you liked the post, now I share some personal photos that I had not yet uploaded 🥰

Definitivamente Santiago de Compostela fue un lugar especial, y no solo por la Catedral, todo en esa ciudad es mágico. Este es uno de esos lugares que visitas y prometes volver. Llegué hasta la ciudad en Avión y me fui en por carretera hacia Oviedo, pero me habría encantado hacer el recorrido del Camino de Santiago, que por cierto igual lo disfruté hace poco a través del blog de una de mis heroínas de Hive, @enmy, a quien mando un saludo especial, y me disculpo por mencionarla, pero ella me hizo recordar que aún tenía esta maravilla de la arquitectura pendiente por compartir. Gracias a todos por acompañarme en este recorrido por el diseño de la Catedral de Santiago de Compostela, espero les haya gustado el post, ahora comparto algunas fotografías personales que aún no había subido 🥰



At minute 3:20 of this video you can appreciate the sound of my choral group singing in front of the altar of this historic Spanish cathedral:

En el minuto 3:20 de este video pueden apreciar el sonido de mi agrupación coral cantando frente al altar de esta histórica catedral católica española:


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center