Daily Blog - Touring the valley and pedaling 6 km to the Don Antonio farm in San Juan, home of twelve cats! / Recorriendo el valle y pedaleando 6 km hasta la finca Don Antonio en San Juan, ¡hogar de doce gatos! 😅❤️

Every time people find out that eight cats live in my house, they are a little surprised. And this number is quite surprising, even it seems like a lot to me when I think about it. Until now I had never met anyone who had more cats than me: with an average of three, no one else had had enough space to transform their house into a small shelter. This was until I visited Don Antonio's farm in the Fertile Valley of San Juan, where I found the modest sum of twelve cats 😃!

Cada vez que la gente se entera de que en mi casa viven ocho gatos se sorprenden un poco. Y es que este número es bastante sorprendente, hasta a mí me parecen muchos cuando lo pienso. Hasta el momento no había conocido a nadie que tuviera más gatos que yo: con un promedio de tres, nadie más había tenido el espacio suficiente para transformar su casa en un pequeño refugio. Esto fue hasta que visité la finca de Don Antonio en el Valle Fértil de San Juan, en donde me encontré con la módica suma de ¡doce gatos 😃!


Varios (18 x 12 cm) (3).png



When I organized my free days in the province of San Juan to get away to the valley, I was lucky enough to get a rental bike at a good price. This was my transportation throughout my stay there, and in addition to getting a lot of exercise, I was able to go places that I might not have reached if I had to walk. One of them was a farm that had been recommended to me, and with the idea of buying some wine, I pedaled the 6 km that separated my hostel from that place 😃.

Cuando organicé mis días libres en la provincia de San Juan para hacerme una escapada al valle, tuve la suerte de conseguir una bicicleta de alquiler a un buen precio. Este fue mi transporte durante toda mi estadía allí, y además de hacer bastante ejercicio, pude ir a lugares a los que quizás no hubiese llegado si tenia que ir caminando. Uno de ellos era una finca que me habían recomendado, y con la idea de comprar algo de vino, pedaleé los 6 km que separaban mi hostel desde ese lugar 😃.

IMG_20231013_172653640.jpgIMG_20231013_174038713.jpgIMG_20231013_175016627.jpgIMG_20231013_192107788.jpg


I already came with well-trained legs from trekking so much, but until now I had not had the opportunity to travel much by bicycle. In fact, this is only the second time I've gone out on the road by bike, since I've always ridden internal streets. The route was quite easy, flat and straight, so it was impossible to get lost. Getting there took me about 40 minutes, just in time for one of the guided tours of the place 😃.

Ya venía con las piernas bien entrenadas de tanto hacer trekking, pero hasta el momento no había tenido la oportunidad de recorrer mucho en bicicleta. De hecho, esta es apenas la segunda vez que salgo a la ruta en bici, ya que siempre anduve por calles internas. El recorrido era bastante fácil, plano y todo derecho, así que era imposible perderse. Llegar hasta allá me tomó unos 40 minutos, justo a tiempo para una de las visitas guiadas del lugar 😃.

IMG_20231013_175736652.jpgIMG_20231013_175728880.jpg


As always, I never see photos of the places I go, so when I got here I found a small family farm run by its own owner. Before arriving I imagined a guided tour with more people, but instead it was just the owner and I touring the fields of the estate. In this place they made wines, jams and also harvested fruits and vegetables. It was good to go for a walk there, although I was sad to know that the drought is affecting this place too much and they have serious problems keeping everything well watered 😶.

Como siempre, nunca veo fotos de los lugares a los que voy, así que cuando llegué acá me encontré con una pequeña finca familiar atendida por su propio dueño. Antes de llegar me imaginaba una visita guiada con más gente, pero en lugar de eso solo estuvimos el dueño y yo recorriendo los campos de la finca. En este lugar hacían vinos, mermeladas y también cosechaban frutas y verduras. Fue bueno ir a pasear por ahí, aunque me entristeció saber que la sequía está afectando demasiado este lugar y tienen serios problemas para mantener bien regado todo 😶.

IMG_20231013_181529870.jpg
IMG_20231013_181517067.jpg
IMG_20231013_181522379.jpg


When we returned to the front of the farm, some kittens began to appear out of nowhere. At first there were few, and since I hadn't seen a kitten in more than a month when I left my house, I stayed for a while petting some. Until then another came, and another, and another, and another. By the time I realized it, I was surrounded by a large crowd of cats meowing for food 😅.

Cuando volvimos al frente de la finca, de la nada empezaron a aparecen algunos gatitos. Al principio eran pocos, y yo que no veía un gatito hacía más de un mes cuando salí de mi casa, me quedé un rato acariciando algunos. Hasta que después vino otro, y otro, y otro, y otro. Para cuando me quise dar cuenta, estaba rodeada por una gran multitud de gatos que maullaban pidiendo comida 😅.

IMG_20231013_180044429.jpgIMG_20231013_180224074.jpg
IMG_20231013_180226492.jpg


Mr. Antonio told me that in total he has 12 cats housed in this place. They are all neutered, but like mine, although they do not reproduce among themselves, they end up inviting their friends to live in this place. He says that he doesn't mind living among so many cats, since most of the time they are walking around the countryside and only appear when they are hungry. When I told him that I had 8 in my house he told me "ha! I beat you. 😂"

El señor Antonio me contó que en total tiene 12 gatos albergados en este lugar. Todos ellos estan castrados, pero como los míos, aunque no se reproducen entre ellos, terminan invitando a sus amigos a vivir a este lugar. Él dice que no le molesta convivir entre tantos gatos, ya que la mayoría del tiempo estan paseando por el campo y solo aparecen cuando tienen hambre. Cuando le dije que yo tenía 8 en mi casa me dijo "ja! te gané" 😂.

IMG_20231013_190037489.jpg


By the time the visit was over and I wanted to buy something, I found the bad news that I had no wine to sell. Apparently, he had already sold everything in the days before I arrived. Instead, I had to take some quince and apricot sweets as a souvenir, which in the end were good but I couldn't help thinking that I wanted some wine 😅.

Para cuando terminó la visita y quise comprar algo, me encontré con la mala noticia de que no tenía vino para vender. Aparentemente, ya había vendido todo en los días anteriores a mi llegada. En lugar de eso, tuve que llevarme de recuerdo algunos dulces de membrillo y damasco, que al final estuvieron buenos pero no pude dejar de pensar que yo quería algo de vino 😅.

IMG_20231014_141849325.jpgIMG_20231013_192031223~2.jpg


It was interesting to visit this farm, although small but beautiful for its landscapes and also all its cats. I also liked going for a little ride on the bike and on paved terrain, since pedaling on gravel is good but if you can ride on a smooth road it is better. In my house I have already left the firm order that we cannot have more than the 8 cats we already have because everything would be true chaos: perhaps if at some point in my life I have a field as big as that, I can reconsider enlarging my cat family 😅.

Fue interesante ir a visitar esta finca, aunque pequeña pero linda por sus paisajes y también todos sus gatos. También me gusto ir a pasear un poco en la bici y por un terreno asfaltado, ya que pedalear en ripio está bueno pero si se puede transitar por un camino liso mejor. En mi casa ya dejé la orden firme de que no podemos tener más de los 8 gatos que ya tenemos porque todo sería un verdadero caos: quizás si en algún momento de mi vida llego a tener un campo tan grande como ese, pueda reconsiderar agrandar mi familia gatuna 😅.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️



IMG_20231013_175009348.jpg


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center