A Late June Bakefest!


IMG_2690.jpg

paw divider transparent.png


Saturdays, I don't work in the bakery. It's not really a day off though, as I don't really tend to have many of those unless I intentionally set a day to relax, but Saturday's are sort of nice catch up days.

Or birthday cake baking days, those are fun too.

IMG_2672.jpg

Actually, I baked a ton of stuff this morning. The first thing I threw in the oven was a loaf of bread. Store bread is just beyond costly, and there's this thing I noticed about store bread. IT DOESN'T MOLD!

Bread should mold if it languishes in the bread box for too long. Store bread used to mold when I was a kid, so it makes me wonder what sort of chemical compound magic they have done to the industrial recipes to keep bread from doing the whole decay and mold growth thing.

Ramble aside, I try to bake a loaf of overnight artisan bread every other day. The fam isn't sad about this as they absolutely adore the crusty, chewy loaves, and I feel good about it as I know they are not ingesting who knows what when they are eating cinnamon sugar toast and turkey sandwiches.

WIN!

IMG_2673.jpg

After baking the bread, I threw a pan of snickerdoodle cookie bars in the oven. They were super easy to whip up, and I wanted to take something special to my little buddy Squish at game night tonight. Usually we get him some gummy bears or something in that vein, but I really don't feel like stopping at the store this evening.

After those two things were baked and cooling, I wandered out to the garden and weeded for an hour and a half. It's that time of year where you better be weeding a bit every day or they will take over. You know, the whole warm temperatures, extra rain, and long daylight hours thing.

When I felt that I had made progress in the Battle Of Unwanted Chlorophyll Vessels. I moseyed back into my abode and began decorating the birthday cake. My daughter's bestie turns nineteen tomorrow, and I wanted to make her something special.

Mint chocolate Oreos are her favorite cookie, so I made Mint Chocolate Oreos The Cake.

It was fun.

Last night, after a blistering ten hours in the bakery, I came home and baked two triple chocolate layer cakes.

IMG_2675.jpg

Today, I got out the cakes I had cooled and wrapped the night before, filled them with some chocolate mousse filling, and frosted the cake with some Mint Chocolate Oreo frosting that I whipped up.

IMG_2676.jpg

I know the frosting was good because the hubs came in and ate the rest of it, and he doesn't like Oreos or cake. Or so he tells me. He also tells me that he only likes my cakes, and honestly, even though I already like him, that makes me like him even more.

With the cake being a birthday cake, I felt like some flourish was needed, so I started chopping mint Oreos in half.

The end product turned out pretty fancy, I am definitely not sad with the result.

IMG_2688.jpg

And I don't think my girl's friend will be either. She's on her way to collect the comestible of celebratory well-wishes!


paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's now in mint sandwich cookie flavor iPhone.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now