Heat, bike, and sore legs [EN/PT]

Hi guys, this is my first post in this community, and thanks to @friendlymoose for inviting me!

Well, first of all, I'd like to talk a bit about how the bicycle is present in my life. I think I learned to ride a bike before I even learned to speak! My family owned a bicycle repair shop for a long time, and this activity started with my grandfather and was later passed on to my uncles. I lived for most of my childhood in a small town in the countryside, and whenever I needed to go to another town or even to work, the bicycle was the main means of transportation.

Today I live in a big, busy city and, to be honest, I'm afraid to ride my bike around here, for fear of having an accident. That's why I only ride when I visit my mother in my old hometown. I have a Monark Speed, which must be at least 50 or 60 years old. It was a present from my grandfather to my uncle, and then he gave it to me. I'll post some photos of it in action soon, as I'm still doing some repairs, mut in the meantime, I'm using one of my brother's bikes..

But anyway, a week ago I went to visit my mother and, after doing what I needed to, I called my brother for a bike walk because I wanted to take some pictures with the drone in a part of town where I used to fish when I was a kid. It wasn't a very long walk, we maybe covered about 3 or 4 kilometers to get to this place, but the sun was punishing, it was very hot that Sunday.

After cycling for a while, we arrived at the place and I took some beautiful photos with the drone, which you can check out here in this post It was really nice to be able to do this, even in the intense heat. Sometimes I don't get to spend so much time with my younger brother and I miss that. On the way, we talked a lot, sharing things about life, and it was peaceful, even though there were some very high hills along the way.

After that ride, we returned home and then something happened: the chain of the bicycle I was using caught on the chainring after I changed gear. There was no point in trying to sort it out in the heat. I tried to loosen the chain, but it didn't work, and after getting grease on my hands, I decided that I would push the bike for the last few kilometers. All being well, it was only a short time before I got home, and I'd ask one of my uncles to see what was wrong and fix it. I don't know much about bike repairs, but they would know what to do.

I didn't do much cycling that weekend, maybe 5 kilometers? I don't know. What I do know is that it had been a long time since I'd ridden a bike, and the consequence was that my legs were sore for a few days. But that's the kind of pain that makes me realize how long I haven't done something I've done all my life. Well, maybe it's time to get back into it. It hasn't been many years since I taught my son to ride a bike, and maybe I'll find a way to do it at weekends without necessarily having to go to my mother's house. As soon as the repairs to my bike are finished, I'll try to be more active!

Translated with DeepL


[PT]

Olá, pessoal! Este é o meu primeiro post nesta comunidade, e obrigado ao @friendlymoose pelo convite!

Bem, antes de mais nada, gostaria de falar um pouco sobre como a bicicleta está presente na minha vida. Acho que aprendi a andar de bicicleta antes mesmo de aprender a falar! Minha família foi dona de uma oficina de reparos de bicicletas por muito tempo, e essa atividade começou com meu avô, sendo depois passada para meus tios. Morei por quase toda a minha infância em uma pequena cidade do interior, e sempre que era necessário ir a outra cidade ou mesmo ao trabalho, a bicicleta era o principal meio de transporte.

Hoje moro em uma cidade grande e movimentada, e, para ser sincero, tenho receio de andar de bicicleta por aqui, com medo de sofrer algum acidente. Por isso, deixo para pedalar quando visito minha mãe, na minha antiga cidadezinha. Tenho uma Monark Speed, que deve ter pelo menos uns 50 ou 60 anos. Ela foi um presente do meu avô para o meu tio, e depois ele me deu de presente. Em breve, vou postar algumas fotos dela em ação, pois ainda estou fazendo alguns reparos, mas enquanto isso, estou usando uma das bicicletas do meu irmão.

Mas, enfim, uma semana atrás fui visitar minha mãe e, depois de fazer o que precisava, chamei meu irmão para dar um passeio, pois queria tirar algumas fotos com o drone em uma parte da cidade onde eu costumava pescar quando era criança. Não foi um passeio muito longo, talvez tenhamos percorrido cerca de 3 ou 4 quilômetros para chegar a esse lugar, mas o sol estava castigando, fazia muito calor naquele domingo.

Depois de pedalar por um tempo, chegamos ao lugar e eu tirei algumas belas fotos com o drone, que você pode conferir aqui nesse post. Foi muito bom poder fazer isso, mesmo com o calor intenso. Às vezes, não passo tanto tempo com meu irmão mais novo e sinto falta disso. No caminho, conversamos bastante, compartilhando coisas da vida, e foi tranquilo, apesar de haver alguns morros bem altos ao longo da trajetória.

Depois desse passeio, voltamos para casa e então algo aconteceu: a corrente da bicicleta que eu estava usando agarrou na coroa depois que troquei de marcha. Não adiantava tentar resolver aquilo no meio daquele calor. Tentei soltar a corrente, mas não funcionou, e, depois de sujar as mãos de graxa, decidi que voltaria empurrando a bicicleta nos últimos quilômetros. Tudo certo, faltava pouco para chegar em casa, e eu pediria a algum dos meus tios para ver o que estava estragado e consertar. Eu não entendo muito sobre reparos de bicicleta, mas eles saberiam o que fazer.

Não pedalei muito naquele fim de semana, talvez uns 5 quilômetros? Não sei. O que sei é que fazia um bom tempo que eu não andava de bicicleta, e a consequência foi que fiquei com as pernas doloridas por alguns dias. Mas esse é o tipo de dor boa, que me faz perceber o quanto tempo fiquei sem fazer algo que fiz durante toda a minha vida. Bem, talvez esteja na hora de voltar a praticar essa atividade. Não faz muitos anos que ensinei meu filho a andar de bicicleta, e talvez eu encontre uma maneira de fazer isso nos fins de semana sem necessariamente precisar ir até a casa da minha mãe. Assim que os reparos na minha bicicleta forem concluídos, vou tentar ser mais ativo nisso!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center