Sunday stroll [EN/PT]



WxGH0HIvEwfqtwNo_DJI_0855.webp
8Dmq7y5UtwzRdAUq_DJI_0859.webp
FLEssbP7yPLI7mGY_DJI_0853.webp
ox43bnRX62P8vudE_DJI_0851.webp
SoSa8krhypIsd3Uf_DJI_0858.webp
9fCku5sxhZjMxCSd_DJI_0860.webp
a8XYswsAzeBTsHFB_DJI_0864.webp
Ltphe226f42ySIuE_DJI_0866.webp
MVNUsvWpJ8GEXgS8_DJI_0873.webp
I84kDo8oY1V5RbJs_DJI_0875.webp

This past Sunday was hectic, as it was election day here in Brazil, and I necessarily had to travel to my hometown in order to vote. I didn't stay long and, after exercising my role as a citizen, I still had some time left before returning to my hometown. So, before heading back to the city where I currently live, I called my brother and we went for a walk to some places further away from our mother's house.

It was a hot day, but by some miracle my brother agreed to get out of front of the computer and go with me. He wasn't sure, but I already had in mind where I wanted to go: I wanted to fly over a part of the river that runs through our small town, but at a more distant point, where I used to fish with my friends when I was a teenager.

I know this river like the back of my hand. There were many times when I wandered along its banks with a fishing rod and some bait. Wow, there are so many stories that I might even be a little emotional as I write this, so many memories are running through my head. But anyway, the coolest thing about being able to come back here and see this river is that you can see it in a different way, from a different perspective. That means a lot to me.

This place has changed very little from above, but it's still beautiful. Just looking at these photos brings back the smell of my childhood. This river is the junction of two others: the Paraibuna River, whose indigenous name means 'river of dark waters', and the Peixe River, which, as the name suggests, has lots of fish, which is why I spent so much time there during my childhood.

It was really nice to be able to take these photos. Maybe one day, with a bit more time, I'll get a fishing rod and go down there again.

Translated: Deepl


[PT]

Esse último domingo foi agitado, pois foi dia das eleições aqui no Brasil, e, necessariamente, precisei viajar até minha cidade natal para poder votar. Não fiquei muito tempo por lá e, depois de ter exercido meu papel de cidadão, ainda me sobrou algum tempo antes de voltar para minha cidade. Então, antes de voltar para a cidade que moro atualmente, chamei meu irmão para passearmos por alguns lugares mais afastados da casa da nossa mãe.

O dia estava bem quente, mas, por um milagre, meu irmão aceitou sair da frente do computador e ir comigo. Ele não sabia ao certo, mas eu já tinha em mente onde queria ir: queria sobrevoar uma parte do rio que passa pela nossa pequena cidade, mas em um ponto mais distante, onde eu costumava pescar com meus amigos quando era adolescente.

Conheço esse rio como a palma da minha mão. Não foram poucas as vezes que percorri suas margens com uma vara de pescar e algumas iscas. Nossa, são tantas histórias que talvez eu esteja até um pouco emocionado enquanto escrevo isso, muitas memórias passam pela minha cabeça. Mas, enfim, o mais legal de poder voltar aqui e ver esse rio é observá-lo de uma forma diferente, sob outra perspectiva. Isso tem um grande significado para mim.

Esse lugar mudou bem pouco visto de cima, ainda continua lindo. Só de olhar para essas fotos, sinto o cheiro da minha infância. Esse rio é a junção de outros dois: o Rio Paraibuna, cujo nome indígena significa 'rio de águas escuras', e o Rio do Peixe, que, como o nome sugere, tem muitos peixes, e foi por isso que eu passava tanto tempo ali durante minha infância.

Foi bem legal poder tirar essas fotos. Talvez qualquer dia, com um pouco mais de tempo, eu pegue uma vara de pescar vá percorrer ali novamente.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center