Cycling - Chasing the Andes Mountains with the bike, pedaling with the best views of Barreal. / Persiguiendo la Cordillera de Los Andes con la bicicleta, pedaleando con las mejores vistas de Barreal. 😃❤️

If there is one thing I never imagined doing during my trip to San Juan, it is seeing a little snow, not even from a distance. What I had researched about this province was that it was very hot and dry, but perhaps I had only focused on the weather in the provincial capital. But this place has some towns very close to the beautiful Andes Mountains, and luckily, on some of my days off from the hostel I had the opportunity to visit one of them. With the idea of a getaway to see other landscapes I could get to Barreal, where I had the snow-capped mountains very close, inviting to get as close as possible 💕.

Si hay algo que no imaginaba hacer durante mi viaje a San Juan es ver un poco de nieve, ni siquiera de lejos. Lo que había investigado sobre esta provincia fue que era muy calurosa y seca, pero quizás solo me había enfocado en el clima de la capital de la provincia. Pero este lugar tiene algunos pueblos muy cerca de la hermosa Cordillera de Los Andes, y por suerte, en algunos de mis días libres del hostel tuve la oportunidad de visitar uno de ellos. Con la idea de una escapada para conocer otros paisajes pude llegar hasta Barreal, en donde tenía las montañas nevadas muy cerca, que invitaban a acercarse lo más posible 💕.


Varios (18 x 12 cm) (8).png



This Barreal town is one of the most chosen by tourists passing through this province. The place is small, but has several lodgings from which you can get great views of the mountains. There was not much difference between the prices of the hostel and the hotel type inns, so I decided for the latter option. The place where I stayed was very beautiful and had a patio with a privileged view. In addition, I had breakfast included, so every morning I started my day with these beautiful postcards 💕.

Este pueblo Barreal es uno de los más elegidos por los turistas que estan de paso por esta provincia. El lugar es pequeño, pero cuenta con varios alojamientos desde los que puedes obtener unas muy buenas vistas de las montañas. No había mucha diferencia entre los precios del hostel y los de las posadas tipo hotel, así que me decidí por esta última opción. El lugar en el que me hospedé era muy hermoso y tenía un patio con una vista privilegiada. Además, tuve incluído el desayuno, por lo que cada mañana empezaba mi día con estas hermosas postales 💕.

IMG_20231023_092255911.jpgIMG_20231023_092236782.jpgIMG_20231023_102745298~2.jpgIMG_20231023_102828609~3.jpgIMG_20231023_102735225~2.jpg


In my experience visiting the Fertile Valley a few weeks ago I discovered that the best way to get around in these places is to have a bicycle. As soon as I arrived, I arranged for a rental bike and this was my vehicle from my first to my last day there. In fact, I used it from minute one because my lodging was quite far from the bus terminal, but that was the price for wanting to have a good view of the mountain range 😅.

En mi experiencia visitando el Valle Fértil hacía unas semanas atrás descubrí que lo mejor para moverse en estos lugares es tener una bicicleta. Ni bien llegué, me encargué de conseguir una de alquiler y este fue mi vehículo desde mi primer hasta el último día por ahí. Es más, la usé desde el minuto uno porque mi alojamiento quedaba bastante lejos de la terminal de micros, pero ese fue el precio por querer tener una buena vista de la cordillera 😅.

IMG_20231023_114813126~2.jpgIMG_20231023_115005495~2.jpgIMG_20231023_114824003.jpg
IMG_20231023_115008636~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_114838769.jpg


Taking advantage of my vehicle, on my first afternoon I went out to explore a little around the inn. I didn't ask much about where I could go, so it was all exploration of what I came across at the time. I only knew there was a river very close by so following the map I looked for it, but once I was there I realized that the terrain was not very good for cycling. I made some progress on the road, but the loose stones made it difficult to pedal, which forced me to retrace my route and choose another place to ride 😅.

Aprovechando mi vehículo, en mi primer tarde salí a explorar un poco los alrededores de la posada. No pregunté mucho hacia donde podía ir, así que fue todo exploración de lo que me cruzaba en el momento. Solo sabía que había un río muy cerca así que siguiendo el mapa lo busqué, pero una vez que estuve ahí me dí cuenta de que el terreno no era muy bueno para la bicicleta. Avancé un poco en el camino, pero las piedras desprendidas dificultaban el pedaleo, lo que me obligó a volver sobre mi ruta y elegir otro lugar para andar 😅.

IMG_20231023_115758610~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_124221162~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_115927089~2.jpgIMG_20231023_114755931~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_115803068~2.jpg


Looking again at the map I saw a place that said "Mirador de Los Andes". I thought it would be a good place to get there by bike since it was only 12 km away. On my previous trip I had already cycled 10 km, so I figured it wouldn't be that difficult and I started my way there. Luckily the road was better, so I knew I could get a little further 😅.

Buscando otra vez en el mapa ví un lugar que decía "Mirador de Los Andes". Pensé que sería un buen lugar para llegar con la bici ya que figuraba que estaba solo a 12 km. En mi travesía anterior ya había pedaleado 10 km, así que supuse que no sería tan dificil y emprendí camino hacia allá. Por suerte el camino era mejor, así que supe que podría llegar un poco más lejos 😅.

IMG_20231023_120516923~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_120513002.jpgIMG_20231023_122806166~2.jpg


My trip included a stretch on the road and then a gravel road of about 8 km. I still had plenty of energy and was excited to get to the viewpoint, so I didn't mind that the road had a slight climb. The bad thing is that I passed several cars going to the same place, so getting full of dirt was inevitable 😂.

Mi travesía incluía hacer un tramo sobre la ruta y después un camino de ripio de como 8 km. Todavía tenía bastante energía y estaba animada por llegar al mirador, así que no me importó que el camino tenía una leve subida. Lo malo es que pasaron varios coches que iban hacia el mismo lugar, así que quedar llena de tierra fue inevitable 😂.

IMG_20231023_122741460~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_122747287~2.jpgIMG_20231023_123140712~2.jpgIMG_20231023_124225528.jpg
IMG_20231023_130539910~2.jpg


While I was walking around I was mesmerized by the beauty of the Andes Mountains. This great mountain range is the one that separates Argentina from Chile from end to end. Both countries have a lot of locations close to the mountain range, so you could never get tired of seeing it. Its permanent snow is what makes it unmistakable and beautiful, and that is why it attracts so many tourists from all over the world 💕.

Mientras estaba paseando por ahí iba hipnotizada con la hermosura de la Cordillera de Los Andes. Este gran cordón montañoso es el que separa Argentina de Chile de punta a punta. Ambos países tenemos un montón de localidades cercanas a la cordillera, por lo que nunca podrías cansarte de verlo. Su nieve permanente es lo que lo hace inconfundible y hermoso, y es por eso que atrae a tantos turistas de todo el mundo 💕.

IMG_20231023_130818354~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_130303655~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_130826198.jpg


My bike ride was taking a little longer than I expected and the street was already seeming a bit endless, but I still wanted to get to the lookout point. After more than an hour of pedaling and pedaling, I passed a car coming from the opposite side of the road and signaled it to stop. I asked him if the view from the viewpoint was good and he told me that it was not very different from what I could see from that point. This made me rethink the trip, until I decided that it was not worth continuing. I didn't feel that going up there would have been a waste of time because I could still see the mountains a little closer, but I admit that I would have liked to complete the whole route. At least I was able to sit down and eat an apple with a nice view after getting some exercise 😅.

Mi paseo en bicicleta estaba siendo un poco más largo de lo que esperaba y la calle ya me estaba pareciendo un poco interminable, pero igual quería llegar al mirador. Después de más de una hora de pedalear y pedalear, me crucé con un auto que venía del lado contrario al mío y le hice señas para que se detuviera. Le pregunté si la vista desde el mirador estaba buena y me dijo que no era muy diferente a lo que se veía desde ese punto. Esto me hizo replantearme la travesía, hasta que decidí que entonces no valía la pena continuar. No sentí que ir hasta ahí hubiera sido una perdida de tiempo porque igual pude ver las montañas un poco más de cerca, pero admito que hubiese querido completar toda la ruta. Por lo menos, pude sentarme a comer una manzana con un buen paisaje después de hacer bastante ejercicio 😅.

IMG_20231023_135638781~2.jpg
IMG_20231023_130813183~2.jpgIMG_20231023_130308599.jpgIMG_20231023_130738458.jpg


Visiting the Andes Mountains was a good improvised plan during those days. It was also great to get a bike to go for rides to places I would not have been able to walk to, so I could say that everything went perfectly. Since I visited Barreal I kept recommending it to other people, even for an afternoon ride. Definitely seeing those landscapes with your own eyes was an incredible thing, and a memory worth having ❤️.

Visitar la Cordillera de los Andes fue un buen plan improvisado durante esos días. También fue genial conseguir una bicicleta para ir a pasear a lugares a los que no hubiese podido llegar caminando, así que podría decir que todo salió perfectamente. Desde que visité Barreal no dejé de recomendarselo a otras personas, incluso para paseos de una tarde. Definitivamente ver esos paisajes con tus propios ojos fue una cosa increíble, y un recuerdo que valió la pena tener ❤️.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️



IMG_20231023_133549764.jpg


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center