Let's encourage female riders

So I have a little story to share with this beautiful community. I made a post yesterday about getting a bicycle on Monday. Well, I needed someone to give me some tips about a bicycle brand that would be good.

I got to the office today, and I was really excited to let some of my colleagues know about my decision to get a bicycle. Some of them were also excited and really wanted to see me get a bicycle. My friend Mrs. Vicky was just teasing me all day at work, calling me "Madam Bicycle." Well, I was happy about it; at least she was in support of my decision. She said to me, "You have taken a great decision, and it will help you save some money." Well, that's true; getting a bicycle was a good financial decision.

Source

What really got me angry today was the attitude of one of my male colleagues towards my decision to get a bicycle. He was totally against the idea. In his words, "A lady should not be seen riding a bicycle; bicycles are for men." Well, the above statement really got me angry. Gender discrimination is one topic I don't believe should still be a hot topic in the 21st century. Discriminating against someone because of their gender is a thing of the past and should not be heard in the modern world.

I asked him to tell me why I should not get a bicycle. He looked at me and smiled. And he said, "It will make you lose your feminine side; you know, riding a bicycle can build your muscles." I said to him, "That's not enough reason for a lady not to ride a bicycle." He was like, "My daughters won't ride a bicycle." Well, I let him know that was a backward way of thinking.I asked him, "What if one day your daughter wins the Tour de France?" He smiled and said, "I would be happy." I just smiled and told him, "You are not against your daughter winning a competition that has some financial reward, but just being selfish and egocentric."He smiled and said, "I just don't get why a lady should ride a bicycle."
I just nodded my head and left him. Well, for me, everyone should be allowed to ride a bicycle.

One thing I have promised myself is that all my female children will definitely know how to ride a bicycle. Gender discrimination should be discouraged in all spheres of life. I encourage all the females out here to ride their bicycles with pride. I am happy that I will be getting my bicycle soon. Anytime I think of me riding a bicycle, I feel butterflies in my belly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center