A Moment Of Pause & Rambling


During one of my doctor's appointments, she asked me why I had not used a hospital in almost my entire adult life, despite my medical history and condition. I wanted to give her several legitimate and significant excuses, but I realized that my inactions were probably worse than the consequences of events beyond my control.

You see, I had these risk factors that I could have paid close attention to, but I secretly hoped that I would be spared. True, I was able to avoid many of the issues for which I had risk factors, but some of them were unavoidable, and they did occur to me.

I could have said that I did not have enough money today to afford quality medical care, which was true at first, but when I looked back at some of the things I had previously spent money on, I realized I had done myself a great disservice. Money was not an issue, but I realized it was not even necessary to have adequate awareness and knowledge.

I had access to knowledge, but I did not seek it.

The smoothness of lif can occasionally create a sense of balance.

Most of the time, only people who have been through numerous bumps in the road feel the need to protect themselves from future ones. Most people who have suffered numerous misfortunes are tired of being unlucky; sometimes it is simply being prepared for the unknown. People do not become negative overnight unless they have faced a lot of negativity.

We have a tendency to wait for events to unfold before preparing for the next one. It is not a deliberate act of irresponsibility; rather, it is simply human nature.

For example, when people have stable jobs, they do not believe they require insurance or savings. There are wealthy people who are afraid to open bank accounts because they do not want to be exposed; they want to avoid the prying eyes of KYC (Know Your Customer), and while this may appear to be a good thing to them, when unexpected events occur, their money is usually lost forever, undiscovered and unspent.

Although some people do have insurance and plan for unexpected events, they never use it throughout their lives.

There are people believe that only those with issues should make adequate preparation, such as a shock absorber, and this is correct. People with issues and risk factors should exercise caution, but this is not always the case. There are people who have overcome cancer but continue to smoke heavily, people who are struggling financially but continue to be financially irresponsible, and people who are fighting addictions but continue to consume substances that trigger their addictions.

Sometimes people just want to make excuses and be careless, and these actions can have consequences.

In my own case, I believe I have been irresponsible in a variety of ways, and the consequences have been dire; over the years, I have seen the consequences of these irresponsibilities manifest in my life. For someone who prides himself on being financially responsible, I have made numerous mistakes that would suggest the opposite. It is ironic that being careful often leads to carelessness, and people sometimes lose in an attempt to win it all.

So, unless you pause and carefully examine who you are, you will be unable to see who you are becoming. So I am mostly seeing this post as a note, and I hope you have found something meaningful in my rambles.



Interested in some more of my works



Is it Easy To Make Money?
Nigeria: A Unique Business Market & Industry
Virtual Bank Apps In Nigeria: An Experience Of Gamification
How To Find The Next "BIG" Meme Coin
Personal Finance: Achieving Intentional "Saving" Goals
Playing The Survival Game: Human Nature In Introspection
"Un-PAYING" The Debt You Owe

png_20230102_074302_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center