CREATING AWARENESS OF BREAST CANCER

The month of October is Breast cancer awareness month. It's a time when awareness of the disease is prompted and also a time to share the importance of early detection.


sydney-rae-jk6Kt2jMy4w-unsplash.jpg
Unsplash

I had long known about the disease, on the surface level though. I only learned of how severe it can be from a friend who had told me that a relative's breast had to be cut off because she was down with it.
That was the moment I understood the gravity, got really scared, so much that I allowed my mind play tricks on me.

Breast cancer, cancer in general, is one of the most deadly diseases that a human could suffer. Sometime last year, or so, I shared how an acquaintance died from Leukemia (blood cancer). From merely pictures and stories, I could only imagine how much pain, worry and fear it brought.

In course of my getting knowledge on what it is, I learned that breast cancer is a type of cancer that happens as a result of growth of cells in the breast tissue. It is the most common type of cancer that happens in women. It occurs in stages, each state far worse than the last.

Early detection is the key to preventing it's spread to other nearby tissues.
Some factors which may be responsible for it are; genetic mutation, family history, exposure to radiation, etc.
The symptoms include; developing of a lump, swelling in the breast, hardened nipple, nipple discharge and redness of the breast.

Like I earlier said, early detection is key. Therefore, it is important that we study our breasts and body, learn and carry out self-checks, and if we notice irregularities or we seek counsel, visit a healthcare professional.

That's the much that I know of the disease. Do not forget to create awareness wherever you go as that might just be you saving a life.

Importantly too, show support to and encourage anyone who is affected by the disease. It will go a long way.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Thanks for gracing this post.
Greetings!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center