Aerobic training in the winter - shoveling

Earlier this week I was talking about how I want to focus on aerobic training, and last night I was actually looking for an exercise bike to help keep moving, then we got about 12" of snow.

I joked with my partner that this was a sign NOT to get more stuff to squeeze into the house.

signal20210208164612.jpeg

When I went out there I took it slow and easy and tried to keep my heart rate within the expected MAF, which for me is around 140 BPM. I didn't get as high of 160 BPM (very close). The first 10 mins or so I was getting READY to shovel including digging out the shovel.

Keeping it slow

The entire time I was shoveling I was checking my heart rate aiming for 140B BPM, this was completely focusing on my MAF. ( Check out this post to find out what MAF is here )

However, when I check my socials in the afternoon when I got back in the house the local fire watcher mentioned that there were 5 cardiac arrest calls by before noon. This is crazy.

Take it slow out there, understand your maximum aerobic function and stay healthy.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center