Focusing more on Aerobic training

I have been thinking about getting back into running lately, something to keep me moving, etc.

I think I started thinking about it when I listened to Peter Attia's podcast with Irene Davis, Ph.D. on the evolution of the foot, and minimalist running.

Then last week I listened to another Peter Attia's podcast, this time with Phil Maffetone.

Something that I pulled from that interview was the idea of Maximum Aerobic Function (MAF) that is tied to heart rate. The idea is that this is the heart rate that you can sustain for extended periods of time. This is what I'm going to use when I start hitting the pavement.

I will have my minimalist Xero Shoes, and using my Garmin watch I will focus on time and heart rate. I will start for 30min a day, 15min out and 15min back, keeping my heart rate at or below my MAF.

What is MAF 180?

Phil Maffetone has a great website, which I really love when smart people have great online websites, and he explains the MAF 180 Formula here.

If you don't want to click out this is the calculation:

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency