Let's try again: a marathon training update in 300 words or less...

I thought I was going to be telling you in this post about the ultra marathon I never finished. But yesterday I didn't feel like writing another big post after doing this one about where I could be saving money the day before.

And today I just watched the live stream of my aunt's funeral. I bawled. I'm now feeling quiet and reflective, not talkative.

So, here are my stats for last week:

Steps:

Mon - 9,226
Tues - 11,333 (fun!!!)
Wed - 10,625
Thurs - 8,488
Fri - 10,320
Sat - 10,200
Sun - 15,605

Daily average - 10,828 steps

Recorded walks:

Mon - 2km
Tues - 1.7km
Wed - 1.5km
Fri - 0.4km (what happened there?!)
Sat - 1.3km
Sun - 1.9km

Total recorded for the week (though I did a few other deliberate walks and for some reason didn't record them) - 8.8km

Recorded runs:

Wed - 0.9km in 7:51. In the bush. Av. cadence 175 spm. Av. HR 136 bpm.

Fri - 1.5km in 13:06. In the bush. Av. cadence 174. Av. HR 137.

Sun - 1.82km in 15:01. In the bush. Av. cadence 176. Av. HR 142.

Total distance = 4.3km (hmmmmm)

Exercises:

Good. Some. Started doing some deadlifts and harder pushups. Enjoying layering these in. Want to do more of them; more volume and more variety.

Notes:

  • It was another week with a heat wave. This means, with no aircon, I slept poorly for most nights and that definitely affects my training.

  • I was in Luteal Phase (of my Menstrual Cycle) all week. This means I can, technically, cover longer distances just more slowly.

  • On parkrunday I volunteered instead of running. That definitely dropped my run total.

Summary:

It doesn't look impressive but I'm happy with how I'm coping with the poor sleep, the heat, and layering in more strength training. I'm happy I'm persevering and making movement more of a habit again. I'm sure the mileage will come as I make this base stronger and stronger.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center