Music Monday - The music of John Bassett

This is my first post using MusicForLife, which is a Hive tribe with its own site and token. This could be a good place for any music related posts, and people will know I love my music. I will slip in a plug for my own album that is free to download on Bandcamp.

Bandcamp has been the source of a lot of the music I have bought in recent years. It just seems that bands I like use it, some big acts like Björk are on there now.

One band that got me intrigued there were kingbathmat, which is just one project by John Bassett from Ireland. I guess this could be considered prog with long tunes featuring some heavy guitar and lots of atmosphere.

Truth Button was the album that got me into them.

Then there is Arcade Messiah which is (mostly) instrumental and heavier (in general). I have a signed CD by this project.

So good he signed it twice

He has also put out some music under his own name that is largely acoustic 'singer songwriter' style.

He obviously feels the need to explore different genres as he also creates electronic music as Sacred Ape. I have not listened to so much of that, but I think I should. I have already bought lots of his music.

John seems like someone who really ought to be on Hive as it suits non-mainstream creative people who can bring over their audience. I have not had any contact with him about this yet.

Rock on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now