Introducing Myself To Hive + Sharing My 1st Recipe Post

Dear Everyone At Hive!

Hello to you all!
I am a newbie here and I am posting for the very first time on the platform. My name is Verna and my username is @ricaponz, I am married and a mother of two grown-up children. My family comes from Sariaya, Quezon Province ( Philippines). My son @gremayo invited me to join the other platform before the forking and it was he who helped me with my registration here.

I had been busy making a living...I was only able to have the time now because of the Lock-down as my store is closed at the moment. I am not sure what awaits me here, but I only heard positive remarks from some other users that it is worth the time posting here rather posting in that famous social media called Facebook.

Verna.jpg

Just A Few Hobbies

My hobbies are not many and aside from cooking, it includes container gardening for flowering plants as well as reading and watching drama series on TV to just simply relax after a hard day´s work in the store. I also collect recipes that I wanted to try out myself. I am also here because I have no idea how crypto currencies work, so maybe I will learn as time goes by.

I love cooking ....

As I used to have a small carenderia (small store where food is served) catering to the employees of a logistic company, I began to cook many simple dishes to meet the preference of my customers.. This recipe does not require so much time and is simple to do.. If the ingredients are prepared beforehand, then you are already halfway done with the cooking time.

We still have a lockdown and we are confined at home. We have our food delivered right in front of our door by a friend who has a stall in the fresh market selling vegetables.. Because of the pandemic, we are not allowed to go out so we have our veggies delivered.

1.jpg

How I cook Bitter Gourd called in our local language as "AMPALAYA"

So about this recipe , it is a filipino Recipe, very delish and easy to make. And without futher ado, the recipe is below.

Stir-Fried Bitter Gourd (Ginisang Ampalaya)

Ingredients:

3 long Bitter Gourd.
2 cloves Garlic, crushed
Cooking oil
1/2 chicken breast cut in small pieces (optional)
1 large onion, sliced thinly
1 tomato, sliced coarsely
Ground pepper
Fish sauce (Patis)
1 small vegetable cube
2 eggs
½ cup water

2.jpg

Preparation:

1... Slice the bitter gourd into halves, remove the seeds and cut the pulp into thin slices, place the slices in a bowl , sprinkle with salt, set aside and leave for about 10 minutes.

2... With both hands squeeze the thin slices pressing them a bit, discard any liquid available in the bowl. Then rinse the slices with running water , that should reduce the bitter taste of the slices.Set aside until needed.

3.jpg

3... In a hot casserole with two tablespoon oil, fry the garlic,. followed by the sliced onions. When the onion is brown in color or glassy, add the chicken parts, continue stirring til the chicken meat becomes pale...add the tomato, stir fry for about 5 minutes.

4.jpg

5.jpg

Add the vegetable cube then fish sauce, stir a bit so the sauce is evenly distributed to the sliced gourd, add the ½ cup water...cover the casserole and let simmer for about 10 minutes til the gourd slices become soft.

7.jpg

7a.jpg

8.jpg


10a.jpg


10b.jpg

Add the beaten egg , stir til the egg is evenly distributed to the gourd slices.. Adjust the seasoning according to your taste.

4... Transfer the cooked gourd in a serving dish and serve warm. This can be served with cooked rice.

Bitter gourd is known to maintain blood sugar levels and is known to help boost immune system. I hope that you will try this recipe because it is simply healthy.

Hopefully this pandemic would end soon.

Thank you for reading!
@ricaponz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now