Quarantine Crepes


619A8431.jpg

Mornin', Hive :D

I was cooking A LOT during the first month of the quarantine, which started in Detroit sometime in March, I think? Not much anymore as we're feeling braver getting takeout haha. One of the things I like making in the mornings is crepes, or bliny in Russian. They're so versatile and take minutes to cook. You can make them sweet or savory, fill 'em up with whatever is around or simply enjoy plain :).

The ones in the photo are accompanied by some lingonberry sauce. I don't know much about this berry, but when I saw a jar of it at the grocery store I decided to give it a try. It wasn't half bad hahaha. Not sure I'd go for it again, I really like raspberry jams, but who knows, it feels good switching things up a bit sometimes.

I know there's a ton of crepe recipes on the internet, but I still wanna share one with you, it works every time, and I feel confident using it when I have people over too.

Ingredients:

  • 200g all purpose flour;
  • 3 eggs;
  • 500ml milk;
  • 1 tb.spoon sugar or more to taste;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 2 tb. spoons neutral cooking oil or butter (melted).

Method:

Luckily, it is pretty simple. Whisk the eggs, salt and sugar together, add in about half of the milk and whisk again. Now, sift in flour and mix well, the batter will be super thick, add in remaining milk and once again make sure all of the ingredients are well incorporated.
Lastly, pour in oil, stir and start frying them up! Not sure the last part needs explanation, but here it is anyway, basically, you ladle the batter on the skillet just so it covers the surface and fry your crepes on both sides until fully cooked/golden brown ;).

Enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now