A Grand Entrance into an Exciting New World!

Introduction

Hello Hive Community! My name is Damilola Oluboyede, a.k.a. King Darius the 3rd (long story).
I'm a medical doctor by profession, but a part time photographer and budding filmmaker and content creator by passion.
I grew up and live in the South West of Nigeria.

20220414-DSC02788.jpg

Some background

I was always a bit passionate about the arts from childhood. I really enjoyed taking pictures in my teenage years, capturing faces and places. The nostalgia evoked by looking back at memories 10 years into the past is priceless!

IMG-20120428-00275.jpg

SAM_0521.JPG

Some throwback pictures, for your viewing pleasure

I started taking photos with my phone, but made the leap to my first proper camera in 2020. The Panasonic Lumix GH4 was a true hybrid, adept at capturing both stills and video, but I soon realized I needed to master one, before venturing into the other.
Late last year, I decided to switch to the Sony ecosystem, purchasing the a7III, with a Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 and the 50mm f1.4, and I have not regretted my decision.

IMG_20220418_202956.jpg

20210427-P1150156.jpg

Pictures taken with the GH4, edited in Adobe Photoshop

The biggest lesson of my journey to being a professional photographer so far, has been consistency.
The more you practice, the more you grow.
No matter how many YouTube videos and online articles one consumes as a self-taught student, you need to put in the physical work.

20211124-DSC01268.jpg

1.jpg

Pictures taken with the Sony A7III, edited in Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop

How did I discover Hive?

A doctor, content creator and friend, @draysax deemed me worthy enough to join the platform, and I must say, at first glance, he was very right.

And yes, he is one of the most talented instrumentalists I know!

My plans for Hive

I love positive energy, which is what I see in this ecosystem. I hope to make connections and build friendships through posting quality content, and providing helpful feedback.

I plan to showcase my photos, along with the steps I took in achieving them, improving myself and my work as I go along. I will also start to create video content, starting with reviews of my current gear, how I use them and why I would recommend them (or not). I aim to contribute to the growth of the health community by sharing my knowledge on public health.

As a burgeoning content creator, it is very important to showcase your work in a place where you can get high quality constructive criticism, while also reaching out to a sizeable audience. Hive provides just that. No more annoying bots leaving unsavory comments or spamming my DM.

Wish me luck on my hive journey!

All images used are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center