Tokyo Study Trip - Day 4, Venturing into Akihabara to solve a IT problem

Tokyo Study Trip Episode 4:

Day 4 - Saturday 29 July 2017

Last night, I realised I had a big problem. I accepted a blogging freelance assignment with an online publisher before I came over, which I was supposed to submit an article weekly. To reduce my luggage weight, I brought over just a “PC pen”, which works as a CPU and I could plug it into the TV and used it like a PC. Unfortunately, I didn’t expect the TV in the apartment to be such a basic one without the plug in feature. So, my mission for the day was to find a connector or anything that could connect my pc pen to the TV. The best place for such IT/ electronic stuff would be Akihabara!

I took the opportunity to look up a nice cafe in Akihabara and decided to visit The French Toast Factory located at Yodobashi Akiba. It was quite crowded being a weekend and I had to queue for a while. (see my video). Had my all-time favourite Eggs Benedict French Toast, which was yummy! Oh one of the popular items on their menu was the DIY pancake for children. I saw many families ordering that dish.

After my meal, it’s time to commence on my mission for the day. It was actually quite intimidating stepping into this male dominance region, going into all these big and small electronics shops trying to look for something which I wasn’t sure even existed, and worse, facing a language barrier. Most shop owners or sales assistants did not even understand what I want. 😅 Eventually, I finally found something which might work and it costed SGD50😑 Anyway, I took the risk and bought it.

By then, it was already evening. Since Akihabara is near to Asakusa, I thought it might be nice and fun to visit the 40th Tokyo Sumida River Fireworks Festival. This is a major yearly fireworks festival and is the first for this summer. Alas, I did not get to visit the festival at all... I was stuck in Asakusa station for almost an hour, just queuing to make it to the station exit because it was so so so crowded. The experience was really uncomfortable, being warm and suffocating in an underground station. I later learnt that people started chopping for a spot 4-5 hours before the fireworks. And here I was being so naive to visit just an hour before the festival. 😅

I gave up and decided to travel to Ueno for dinner. Dinner was at one of my favourite cafe chain- Afternoon Tea Living. Was happy that the high tea set was available! I love high tea. 😍On my way home, I could hear the fireworks from afar. Though disappointing, I guessed hearing the fireworks also signifies participation in a way? 😅

Anyway, later in the night, I tried to set up the pc pen connection with my TV, based on instructions from my hubby via facetime. It did not work! 😫OMG - what a waste of money! So, I wrote an email to the publisher, requesting for a 1-month extension and fortunately, it was agreed upon. The best part is: now I get to really enjoy my one month stay in japan, free from all “work obligations”!

Very delicious Eggs Benedict French Toast from The French Toast Factory.

image.png

My high tea set for dinner. I can eat bread and pastries at any time of the day as a main meal. 😬
image.png

Seasonal High Tea menu at Afternoon Tea Living.
image.png

Honestly, I didn’t know what I was doing. Was just trying to anyhow plug in here and there to make it work. 🤦🏻‍♀️ As expected, it didn’t work. 🤣
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center