A throwback to my one month study trip in Tokyo back in 2017 - Day 1 and 2, settling down in new apartment

-- This is a new series where I document my study trip in Tokyo a few years back. Follow me and check out the adventures! --

Tokyo Study Trip Episode 1:

Day 1 - Wednesday 26 July 2017

My first day of the trip was one of the most memorable because it was nothing short of surprises and drama(s)! ๐Ÿคฃ

Firstly, I took the Tokyo Shuttle Bus and was caught in the rain opposite Tokyo Station. So I had to collect my luggage in the rain and seek refuge outside shops, waiting for the rain to stop.

Next, it was a looonggg and hectic journey travelling from Tokyo to Shinjuku (to Sakura property company for key collection). Also, I had to make my own way to Motohasunuma where my apartment is - all during the peak train hours, transferring within stations, squeezing in the train with my two huge and heavy luggage and lugging them up flights of stairs in train stations. Then, I was stunned when I reached my apartment building. There is no lift! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

My unit is on level 5! Omg. So I had to lug my two huge luggage step by step up 10 flights of stairs. It seemed to take forever to reach my unit. By the time I stepped into my apartment, Iโ€™m completely drained.

Then, I decided to have a quick dinner at Matsuya near the train station. So I left the house again. It was already dark and a little creepy outside as I made my way home. Then I got another shock when I was preparing to shower. I forgot that there is no amenities at all in the apartment. No shampoo, no shower gel. I almost died. Because I cannot imagine not showering after being drenched in the rain and sweat etc, I decided to walk out to Lawsons opposite the train station again to buy travel size shampoo and shower gel. I literally ran through the dark alley because it was quite scary. By the time I finished my shower, I was totally drained. I slept with wet hair that night as I had no hair dryer and I was too exhausted to wait for my hair to dry. Everything and anything shall be settled the next day. ๐Ÿ˜…

What a memorable first day of the trip! ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… Stay tune for my adventures on day 2!

The last selfie that I sent to family, friends and (ex) colleagues before boarding the flight.
image.png

My first meal of the day. My favourite mango and raspberry pancake from Tully's Coffee at Isetan, Tokyo Station! Feeling really warm and energized after being caught in the heavy downpour!
image.png

Collected my key from Sakura property! Actually, I thought someone will bring me to the apartment. Ah well~~~ the map looks simple and easy to find.
image.png

Look at the map! From the footbridge to the building is a dark alley. Omg. See that Lawson? I visited it every.single.day without fail. haha
image.png

The agent said this piece of information is the most important - dispose your garbage accordingly. Little did i know that throwing "rubbish" soon became also one of the most stressful part of the trip. lol
image.png

My first dinner and second meal of the day! Its so gratifying to eat something familiar from Matsuya: delicious salad + rice + hamburger steak meal. However, this Matsuya is very quiet and there was only another man eating in with me. I'm starting to realise I am in a very different side of Tokyo. Mmm...
image.png

Tokyo Study Trip Episode 2:

Day 2 - Thursday 27 July 2017

I figured yesterday must have been too draining for me that I didnโ€™t have the energy to feel scared and insecure sleeping in a totally unfamiliar environment. In fact, I slept very well! Opps, maybe thatโ€™s because I brought over my own *pillow and bedsheets! ๐Ÿคฃ (now you understand why I had 2 huge luggage ๐Ÿคญ).

The dayโ€™s focus was on marketing and stocking up on daily necessities, but not before I visited my first themed cafe of the trip- Tuxedo Sam popped up cafe ! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Tuxedo Sam is one of Sanrio characters and he is Hello Kittyโ€™s friend! In fact, I got introduced to him and Hello Kitty at the same time at aged 7! I was really happy that he finally had an opportunity to shine! The cafe was at Shibuya Hikarie ShinQs. This mall was newly opened then (3 years ago) and I was excited to visit it. The cafe was nicely decorated but relatively quiet. Maybe it was because itโ€™s located at a corner of the level. The food presentation was very cute just like any other popped out cafes, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience!

Next on the itinerary was shopping for daily necessities (such as shampoo, conditioner, body foam, detergent, hair-dryer, tissue papers, toilet papers, toothpaste etc etc ) at Shibuya Mega Don Quijote. I spent an awfully longggg time there, doing pricing and brands comparison etc. Still, I spent almost SGD250 after tax rebate! ๐Ÿ˜“

I also made my way to Harajuku Daiso to buy more household items. All I can conclude was: Itโ€™s never cheap setting up a temporary home... in Tokyo! ๐Ÿ˜ญBut on the other hand, Iโ€™m now convinced that you can also set up a home based on stuff from Daiso! ๐Ÿคฉ

Dinner was at popular *Tempura Tendon Tenya located at Harajuku. This is one of the meals I must eat whenever Iโ€™m in Japan! Again, it was a hectic second day as I had to lug all these heavy items back to my apartment at the end of the day. I also kind-of regretted not staying in an area near to town. And omg to that dreadful 10 flights of stairs again. ๐Ÿ˜“๐Ÿ˜“๐Ÿ˜“

My very delighted first meal of the day! So so cute! ๐Ÿ˜
image.png

Itโ€™s always a struggle to eat such pretty food set-up! ๐Ÿคฃ
image.png

And I dropped by to say hello to Hachiko. ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป
image.png

Sumptuous dinner at Tempura Tendon Tenya at Harajuku.
image.png

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ I would love to think that the apartment doorknob was named after me. ๐Ÿ˜ฌ
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center