Sauron's Tower, Seoul

One of the most famous landmarks in Seoul is Lotte Tower, a Tower that stands 555 metres tall and is the tallest skyscraper in the OECD. Inside the tower, you will find a theme park, luxury mall, aquarium, and both the most expensive hotel rooms and apartments that the city has to offer. The tower also has a striking resemblance to a particular evil tower in one of the greatest fantasy fictions of all time.

I've explored a lot of Seoul's vistas in my journey to find the single best view that the city has to offer. I think I may have finally found it? These photos were taken at Namhansanseong, a fortress located atop a mountain on the east of Seoul.

lotte_tower_1.jpg

On the day that I visited the fortress, the fine dust was quite bad. Although definitely not one of the worst days (we had a few days with an AQI over 500 this year), the dust definitely shows in these pictures. Even after de-hazing the images where possible, you can still see the haze caused by the fine particles.

lotte_tower_2.jpg

This photo was taken a bit earlier in the evening before the sun fully descended. It exemplifies the dust situation that Seoul often faces. While I really love living in Seoul, the dust is the biggest issue for me. Not only because it can ruin photos, but because of how many health conditions are linked to air pollution.

lotte_tower_3.jpg

Once the sun fully went down the skies cleared a little and you can see the view better in this image. In the foreground stands Lotte Tower, behind the tower the Han River weaves through central Seoul. Located on the mountain behind the river you can see Namsan Tower, probably Seoul's most famous tower landmark.

lotte_tower_4.jpg

The fourth and final image. This one was also taken a bit earlier in the evening before the sun fully went down. Although the colours in the sky are quite washed out (for the aforementioned reason), they are still stunning.

I hope you enjoyed reading my post! I haven't posted to OCD before but after coming across the community I wanted to see what it's like. I hope everyone is having a good day!


Thank you for reading!

purple_skies.png

Thanks for checking out my post. I would love to hear from you, so please feel free to share any thoughts or comments you have!

If you're interested in owning any of these photos on the blockchain, you can check out my NFTs. See an image that you want to own but that isn't on sale yet? let me know and I might be able to upload it as an NFT.

Hive Watchers verification

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now