Art Journal : Week 2 - First Portrait Sketches

Hello Everyone,

I am back with another art journal update. This is an update on the progress I have made in my second week of sketching and making my art journal.

This week I started off very active drawing every day, but then dropped off the last couple of days. However, I plan some time for sketching this weekend so I will continue my sketching journey.

I continued working from my book with some basic sketching of household items.

I think I need to work on my straight lines somewhat. I will try to find a ruler to help me with that.

I was very excited once I got my new book which is called Draw Easy! It gave a few pages to actually read first with good tips on what strength pencils to use for different things like shadows, also to consider where the sun is coming from and vanishing points.

The first tasks were to do some portraits. Here is my first one. I was struggling with the ears and face shape a little.

Side by side you can see my attempt.

I need to get a good eraser to help with corrections and any changes I decide.

I am also enjoying adding some color to my sketches, it gives another dimension to drawing that I am enjoying.

My final portrait sketch was this one. I quite like the guide in that it helps you think about dimensions and where you will place everything.

I'm not sure if I was making him a Klingon with his ear or an Elf.

Overall, I think portraits can be quite challenging, but they are also something new and fun to draw.

Thanks for reading/looking.

Credits:

All photos are my own.

Let's connect : mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
59 Comments
Ecency