Sketchbook 026 - Colourful Door Painting (With Video)

Hello and happy Tuesday!

Finally, after almost four years of working on it on and off (and altogether quitting drawing for about two years) I have managed to finish painting the second biggest painting I have ever attempted.

I first started this painting at the start of 2021, a few weeks after moving into this house, it was mostly a coping mechanism to help distract myself from a whole list of mostly anxiety based issues. I didn't bother with any process photos back then, so, to save time and the effort of telling a long, boring story, I will skip ahead to November of 2023, when I started working on this again. It was the first project i worked on after taking up my art hobby again.

...unfortunately, my daughter (and the rest of the family...) had figured that it would be totally okay to just the door as a drawing board during the time I hadn't been working on it...

Just a few details, up close

The first step, before attempting to do any more painting was to scrub and i mean SCRUB hard and for a long time. I didn't fully remove the ink from the door, but hopefully a few coats of paint would fix it.

After that, it was finally time to crawl around on the floor for some uncomfortable painting. Still fun somehow.

After one layer of paint, the red ink was still visible.

...So, after a little bit of grumbling, I started on another layer of green paint.

Many hours later, most traces of the red were gone. Unfortunately, and with just my damn luck...I ran out of green paint. To add to the fun and games, they no longer had that exact shade available anywhere in town.

The entire thing looked rather boring to me, so I decided to add some pretty bits that were inspired by a few things and thoughts that, for the sake of fun and mystery, I wont share.

It took me about two months and a lot of pens and paints to complete the pattern.

Even though the details were quite nice...it still looked like it needed something.
Also, my daughter managed to 'help' one day when I was not looking. Well...shit...more work was needed.

As a last ditch effort, I added a blue outline, hoping that it wouldn't mess up the entire thing.

..better, but it still needed something!

...finally...I was satisfied! Or maybe just too fed up to keep fiddling and faffing with it. Haha either way. It is done...now the only issue is that we are planning on replacing all the doors in the house soon. (They are really ugly and mismatched)
I really don't want to just throw it away...but it is too big to keep. Oops.

Bonus Timelapse Process video!

Well that's it for today, tomorrow is voting day, which means everyone will be at home, hopefully I will get to post something then...but I'm not going to get my hopes up to high.

Till next time! Much love and stay creative!

Thanks for reading <3

Credit - All content found in this post is my own work.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now