Sketchbook 034 - Fanart Fridays - Lady Gaga in Graphite

Hi and happy Friday!

Learning to draw portraits has been a very challenging and rewarding experience. There are so many techniques and styles to attempt to master. Lately, due to having purchased a few graphite pencils (not a set, just HB) I have been working on getting better at my pencil drawings and shading.

While this is still far from perfect, and more stylized than realistic, I enjoyed the process of creating it, and learnt a lot.

Once I get through the finicky awfulness of suffering with proportions and accuracy, I like to clean up my sketch as much as possible, it just makes the rest of the process so much easier.

It is usually easiest for me to start with the face, especially the eyes. If you can get your eyes right, there is a certain amount of hedging you can do on the rest of the details, while still drawing a reasonably decent portrait.

The face part of the portrait took me around two to three hours to complete....the hair however, ended up being a torture session that lasted well over eleven hours.

For this one, I chose to stick very close to the reference image.

Painting the lips was also a very nice break from all that confusing hair. Honestly, I feel like I messed the hair part up a little bit, but that's what you get for wanting to finish something without referring to the reference. I had fun either way.

After all that, I am a little bit annoyed with myself with myself for already planning on drawing another portrait with long hair. Luckily it'll be easy hair that I'm used to this time.

Well, that's it for today, if anyone has any suggestions or character request let me know in the comments, because I am not above spamming everyone with my favourites. 😜

Till next time, much love and good vibes to all!

Credit - All work is my own, photos are also mine, taken using Samsung A33 camera
Banner created using Adobe Express

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center