Splinterlands Art Contest Week #203 - River Hellondale

So, for this week's contest, I decided to go back and gave drawing River another try. He was one of the first characters I chose to draw for the contest, but didn't know much about changing poses and stuff back then. So I left him altogether and gave up on joining that week, and the next, I chose another character and proceeded with that.

One of the challenges I first had back in my first try at drawing him was the magic aura in his hand, since it has no definite border and you can't really "outline" it, if you know what I mean. But this time I decided to set that "perfectionism" aside and give it a go by simply giving him a magic sphere of sorts and it worked pretty well.

I'm starting to sort of like this type of traditional arts + all-outline style. It removes much of the hassle of drawing things like the magic aura in his hands. I should start working on making my shades better so that I can draw those shades and auras better tho.

I really like how the gate turned out in the final result. When I started it out, I was worried about whether or not it'd fit the image of the character, but I think their color schemes match perfectly. I'm also quite proud of how I managed to make the light coming from the gate behind him reflect on his sides - makes the whole blend more realistic imo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency