What "weird" music do you like to hear?

I know that "weird" is a subjective notion. So for example, for a Spanish person, music from Thailand might be weird. For a Canadian, music from Poland might be weird... You get the point right?

In short words, with "weird" I mean foreign music groups that you are 99% sure no other person close to your social circles knows about. In my case, the "weird" music I like to hear is from this j-pop group called Perfume.

Unlike a lot of western music, this group tends to use happy and positive lyrics with no degeneration whatsoever (you will have to translate the lyrics from Japanese to understand them ^^ or activate the cc option in Youtube. Some videos have the English lyrics as subtitles). Aesthetically speaking, their music videos are very polished and very well done. You won't see them twerking or anything like that.

I discovered this group when watching a video about Japan some years ago, one of the songs picked my curiosity and it was "Dream Fighter" from the group "Perfume". This is the video:

Once I discovered them I started to check their other songs and even though I don't like each and every single one, they have produced a lot of good stuff! This is another great song with some cool electronic music. The only thing I don't like about the video is the excess of pink.

Meanwhile, this is what westerners music stars tend to be doing all the time:

tenor.gif

image.png

This is another elegant video from Perfume to confirm the contrast.

So, what "weird" music do you like to hear and how did you discover it?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center