Have you ever been hacked?

While I'm working on reviving a couple old communities and their ideas that could work really well with @commentrewarder. I thought I'd start with asking a general question regarding hacking.

A lot of people, I'd say majority, still don't use safety measures in this day and age and live in the "risk" zone of potential leaks getting them hacked one way or another. This usually happens by using the same email and password on many different websites, one of them gets hacked it opens up another attack vector for thefts to occur on other sites.

I've had to learn this lesson the hard way, fortunately before I started my journey here on this chain.

My account on those Bitcoin forums that were popular back in the day was hacked along with some other crypto sites I used the same login on. While this didn't directly affect my wallet, it affected my reputation quite badly while I was trying to become active and grow a presence in the space. The hackers who got hold of my account started using it to steal other people's crypto in some kind of peer2peer loaning sections of the forum and then never return the funds. This then caused some other people to not trust "the real me" and my window of opportunities became quite blocked over time.

Thankfully this caused me to stop being so lazy and make sure I use strong and uniquely generated passwords for all sites I use, especially those I trust. For other things I have a wide variety of different "junk" emails to just test stuff out and always have unique passwords there as well.

If you're someone who happens to be storing keys online or on emails, etc, it's even more important that you use password managers and make sure you're treading as safely as you can. Although my recommendation would be to take those keys offline and store them securely in many safe locations.

I have since not gotten hacked, thankfully, but have noticed a lot of hive accounts requesting to reset their keys through our recovery system so I'm often curious how the keys get leaked/stolen in the first place.

Even if you aren't that active on Hive or don't plan to be, you never know what happens in crypto. There's been times where I've remembered that I've mined some coins like Doge and Dash but the mining pools were of course dead or had emptied out my pending balance. It'd be a shame for people to remember they had a Hive account they were active on some time ago with some hive left only to come back later and find out their account got emptied out due to unsafe storage of keys.

Other than a reminder of how important it is to store your keys safely, have you had any experience in getting hacked in one way or another? What happened/do you think happened and have you put any effort into making sure it can be avoided in the future?

Sending 20% of post rewards to @commentrewarder for this post. Stay tuned for some more updates regarding the askthehive and manipulationstation community soon in collaboration with commentrewarder!

Banner from Pixabay.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now