The Garden is Buzzing

Our garden has really come to life in recent weeks. Lots of flowers are coming out and I do not even know what they are all called. I do know poppies when I see them though. We have several varieties and these are the largest.

Poppies

I saw some bees around and caught this bumblebee going in. Its wings do not really show up in the photo.

Bumble poppy

The cow parsley seems more popular with flies. We let this grow in a few spots in the garden.

Fly

I do not know what this bush is called, but it smells nice and attracted a few bees.

Small bee

This may be a brown-tailed bumblebee. It has less vivid colouring than the one above.

Brown-tailed

This may be the same small bee as above.

Small bee 2

Years ago we planted a clematis to grow up our trellis, but that got overgrown by ivy. The clematis is still going, but I have just seen this one bit flower.

Clematis

Meanwhile the mason bees have been busy. They have used about ten of the tubes I put out. I have lots of spares and am storing the used ones in the shed.

Masons

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center