GU is good, but it can be better #2

Let's continue with where we left off with the last post and mention some other things that can be improved.

Unskippable post-match screen

Every match awards some XP shown on one screen and then some flux and stars in a vial on the second screen. The continue button is hidden on both screens until the animations are fully played out to show the player how much of everything they had earned.


Source: GodsUnchained

There are several issues with this one... Why can't there be only one screen to show all awards? Why is there no skip button or make the continue button skip the reward animations and take me straight to the queue screen? Why is there no settings configuration to skip this screen altogether?

Unstacked card effects

Ok, this one is bugging me since day one: I queue 2 different cards and both of them have effects. The first one has roar and the second one has regen and I have to wait for the effects to show. My turn can last 3 seconds if all effects are either hidden or they stack on top of each other and be played out in the same time, but no, my turn lasts 13 seconds and I'm just sitting there spamming the "end turn" button for most of the time.

I get that the effects offer visual clarity of what is going on, but the seconds played card doesn't need to wait for the first card's effect to play until the end to appear on the board.

I also get that the effects offer natural request throttling and there is no server delay for the player when waiting for the response, also this allows the devs to not care as much as they would for race conditions of requests. But that is what queues are for if they are not already implemented.

I don't want to go into technical stuff, but these are some of the quality of life features that can improve the UX of the game.

Do you agree?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center