GU is good, but it can be better

Let me start by saying that I really enjoy Gods Unchained. It is better than Hearthstone because, ironically, it is not pay-to-win. It is better than Gwent because the gameplay mechanic is more dynamic. But can it be better...?

I won't go into gameplay balancing rant or comment on the cards, that can always be improved. What we need are some quality-of-life features.

What is GU missing?

Here are some features that come to mind.

Weekly event progress tracking in-game client

I'm aware that gudecks provides this functionality, but refreshing every 2-3 games to check on the event progress is tiresome, especially since there is a throttling mechanism to bottleneck too many requests.

Game start notification

Sometimes when I queue for games, while the game is connecting I browse the Interwebs like any normal person, and if I don't trick the game client into thinking the game is in focus, there is no background music to "notify" me that the game has started and I need to pick a god ability. What I need is either enabling music while the game is not in focus or a windows taskbar icon ping to notify me that the game has started, and maybe even go further to notify me when it is my turn if I'm alt-tabbed.

Player communication

I know that an in-game chat can be toxic, but a chat-wheel might prove useful. For example when a player takes too long to finish the game when I have no defenses because of the chronic case of idiocy I need to be able to notify them that I will report them for toxic behavior.

Reporting system

For example, when a player takes 10 turns to finish the game when I have no defenses because of the chronic case of idiocy I need to be able to report them for toxic behavior. To be 100% clear, I refuse to concede!

Punishment for early conceding

If I have an unfavorable matchup and I quit the game in the first turn I should not be able to queue for 30 minutes as punishment. 1 in every 10 games ends in the first turn for me and that takes the fun out of the game. If I don't get to play against gods that are weaker than my god then I am always doomed to struggle against stronger gods. That is not bad, just annoying.

What do you think?

GL HF,
Pure Gameplay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center