"You called it a Hobby, I called it Life"

Avocation... Honestly, for twenty-four years of existence, I just heard or read this word upon reading the blog post about this week's "The Inkwell Creative Nonfiction Prompt". Good thing, as I go on reading, I came to read the explanation of what this word really means. A "Hobby" or "Leisure Activity" it says.

It took me a while to think about how I will be going to capture your interest to read my entry, the whole thing I mean. Some of you here already knew what kind of hobby I am passionate about and maybe, just maybe, it might not give you an interest anymore to go on further. But still, I will try to do my best, especially that you will surely be spending your valuable time and with sincerity, I really do appreciate that.

Volleyball...

png_20221209_210827_0000.png[edited from Canva App]

Yes, that's it! I am really into Volleyball since Elementary. I started to get interested to it when my Aunt encouraged me to learn playing this kind of sport. Then, all throughout my Highschool and College years, I am one the Campus Varsity Players which has given me the chance to take part for the SCUAA games 2017 held at Visayas State University.

FB_IMG_16207020938615224.jpg[taken from my facebook]

IMG_20221209_192817.jpg[my College faction jerseys]

IMG_20221209_192914.jpg[my SCUAA certificate]

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqoNaGesawVPeGY8CZTdZwzaG2vjjZvzsgL6WgRBMyGtfFRZZLN8cVPiU3a2yk9pS7vbS314Wm2xQ3SFutgMPqdMedwR6ByWGHwLYaVAhgVosZXu.webp

When I graduated College, it left me with no other choice than to stop playing for I need to look for a job. But Fate was just cruel to me. Even until now, I still don't have a stable job. Side Hustling is my only source of income. It took me almost three years before I have given a chance to play again in tournaments. But in that long years, I still get a chance to play with the ball even at home. Just a sort of pastime.

And just earlier days of August this year, 2022, the Hilongos Volleyball Club announced the official come back of Volleyball Tournaments both Men's and Women's Division in connection to Sangguniang Kabataan Linggo ng Kabataan Activities. Some Barangays around Hilongos Town, organized their Summer Leagues. There were also Volleyball Tournament being held during Barangay Fiesta Celebrations. Because of that, together with my Aunt and her team before, as well as the Boys team, we encouraged our the youth to start giving interest and giving off time to learn the sport. We guided them since day one, up until they joined with us in playing an official tournaments. Of course, because our team are mostly amateurs, we don't expect too much about winning the games. But there were times that we placed a spot in the top three, so as hailed as the over-all Champion.

1670583621616.jpg[some of our games]

1670589599077.jpg[me aiming for a spike_screenshot from a video]

Thankfully, with the support of our Barangay and SK Officials we were given our Team Uniforms.

IMG_20221016_102736.jpg[taken using my phone]

IMG_20221016_102559.jpg[taken using my phone]

And just yesterday, December 08, 2022, we joined another Volleyball Tournament as for one of the highlights for the Sitio Fiesta Celebration.

1670583733478.jpg[taken from Facebook_credits to RJhay]

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqoNaGesawVPeGY8CZTdZwzaG2vjjZvzsgL6WgRBMyGtfFRZZLN8cVPiU3a2yk9pS7vbS314Wm2xQ3SFutgMPqdMedwR6ByWGHwLYaVAhgVosZXu.webp
Now, let's go on answering the guide questions;

Why are you passionate about that pastime? What makes it interesting or exciting to you?

  • It is because Volleyball has given me a lot of happiness. Its one of the reasons of my happiness. When I am in the court, the thrill and excitement I felt, hearing the crowd cheering for you, getting a score for your team, especially when declaring the team as the winner, its just AWESOME!

You may just called it a Hobby but I called it Life. For without Volleyball I may have suffocated with all the problems, stresses, or challenges that came to my life. Volleyball has given me the opportunity to divert my attention to think about how should I handle the pressures surrounding me right now. When I hit a ball, this is where I can release the negativities inside me. By playing Volleyball, I was able to control myself from breaking down.

More than that, Volleyball is one of the reasons why I learn to have a sense of Camaraderie and learn the true meaning of Sportsmanship. And the most important thing about it, is learning to trust your team and build a teamwork to win the game.

Is it relaxing or is it about physical activity (like hiking, running or biking)?

  • Of course, it is a physical activity and in my part, I can say that its relaxing as well.

Do you produce anything, like candles, soaps, or crafts? And if so, is the joy of making all those things, or in giving them away (or selling them)?

  • I will just literally answer, we don't produce any of these.

Have you ever dreamed of making your avocation your primary source of income?

  • I will definitely answer NO! Because living at this stage of life, I should really go on finding a job which I can say that it is my primary source of income. I maybe struggling but I will keep trying. As for this avocation, I am happy enough to just take part in any tournaments, with or without getting any prize at all. My very reason is to give myself a break. A break from being stress and a break from being depress.

Do you think everyone should have an avocation? Why?

  • I guess, it depends to the person and the situation. But I am encouraging everyone to have one. Because in my case, having an avocation, gives me a time for myself to enjoy for a moment. Not just by staying in that certain situation which can cause me to breakdown again and again.

That ends this blog. Thank you for reading everyone. Hugs and Kisses!

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

<Date Publish: 12.09.2022>
<Author: volleyren20>

Photos are owned by yours truly otherwise stated. (Mostly taken using my own phone.)💕
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now