Becoming Unflappable

Becoming Unflappable



Source

On the first day of my internship program at a reputable marketing company, I was just anxious. I could smell the aroma of freshly prepared coffee filling the workplace as soon as I walked into the sleek, modern workspace, and I could also hear people talking all around me. I was holding my notebook tightly, determined to leave a positive impression.

Not only that, but I saw my friend Bukky, who was also there for the same internship, across the office. Her easy smile and tousled light colored hair gave off an impression of carefree confidence that I found myself envious of.
“Hi Tommy,” Bukky yelled. She gestured for me to join her as I approached the spot where she was sitting. "Is this place not incredible?" she exclaimed. Our manager, Mr. Matthew, came up to us before I could answer her question and said, “I hope you are ready to start working hard right away.” In two weeks, we have a significant client presentation, and I demand nothing less than excellence.

Bukky gave an enthusiastic nod, and I experienced knots in my gut. As soon as possible, we were divided into groups and given the responsibility of creating marketing plans for the next pitch.
I spent many hours following up with inquiries and thinking during the next few days. My teammates disapproved of my ideas since they failed to materialize despite my best efforts.
“Tommy, these ideas are blah,” a coworker said in a hurried voice. “We require something new and creative.”
Under their inspection, my confidence crumbled and I withered. I could see Bukky across the office, taking advice and criticism with the same steadfast nonchalance.

“What is her secret?” Envious of her ability to brush off criticism like water off a duck’s back, I wondered.

I remained up late at work the night before the big presentation, trying my hardest to revamp my dull ideas. Bukky suddenly appeared in the conference room, her expression worried.
“So, Tommy, you are still here?” Bukky sat down beside me after asking me. “Tommy, you really need to take a little time to relax right now.” I simply sigh, rake my hand through my disheveled hair, and meet her gaze. You are not as adept at it as you believe. You exude such confidence and ease. I aspire to be that way.

Bukky face became more kind. Is not not that I am not concerned about the work, I just do not allow negativity get to me. I am aware that receiving criticism in this field of work is common, but I choose not to let it cause me to lose concentration. The unfavorable comments seem to just roll off my back; I continue to be unaffected by them, like water off a duck's back. I simply keep what is truly helpful and discard the rest.

I could relate to her comments, and I saw that trying too hard to please everyone was impeding my growth. Resilience and learning to let criticism flow off me like water off a duck's back became very apparent to me.

Source
The next day, as I stood in front of the customer and executives, my heart pounded in my chest. This time, though, I tried to embody Bukky's unwavering spirit and concentrated on expressing my ideas with grace and confidence. And when the inevitable haters showed up, I did not back down. I paid attention, took in the advice that made sense, and let the rest pass me by without consequence. Mr. Matthew then drew me away while grinning infrequently. Outstanding effort, Tommy. You did a great job today.

I was filled with gratitude for Bukky friendship and inspiration as I gazed upon her beaming, proud smile. She had started me on the path to developing the resilience and carefree mindset that are essential for success in this hard field. I made a commitment to myself that if I faced a challenge, I would easily overcome negativity and welcome the previously rare confidence that had returned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now