EXCEPTIONAL


Image by Andrea Piacquadio on pexel

“I have a meeting with the MD of crystal company tomorrow, concerning our collaboration on the next project. You’ll be going with me as my personal assistant, so get prepared. Tell the secretary to get the files ready and send a mail to Mr Brown to reschedule the meeting for next week.” I said as I reached for my phone.
“Okay Boss! I’ll do just that.” Sammy replied and left hurriedly. Just after a minute, I decided to put a call through to my friend, Danie for a dinner date.
It’s been a pretty hectic day and I needed a nice meal before I go home to have a good rest.

“Esther!! Esther!!!” I jolted awake and went for the door, hearing my friends call out my name with their loud voices. Wait! Have I been dreaming? Oh no! I wish I didn’t wake up yet.
“We’ve been knocking the whole day, madam sleep! We’re having our final paper tomorrow which everyone is finding difficult and you’re here snoring!” Danie snapped.

We’ve been friends since our first year until we met Sophie and Clara, making us the fantastic four.
Danie the fashionista, beautiful dark skin with the height of a beanstalk, always talking about creating her own clothing line after school.
Sophie the youngest, dumpy and beautiful with those strabismus eyes of hers. She can be cocky sometimes.
As for Clara, the rich, humble and shy one, who’d be working in her father’s company just after school.
Here I am, the one that has been tagged “the quick-witted”, always having my hair fluffed around my face in a popular Afro style in my room, either reading, drawing or just sitting, thinking of how life’d be after school.

“Esther, you need to put us through again on this one. We’ve been trying to crack this course. I’ll personally get you a special gift tomorrow, my brilliant friend.” Sophie said smiling broadly.

....And now, it’s been two years since we graduated and we hardly kept contact as everyone’s been busy with work. The last time we heard from Clara was when she told us about her plan to leave the country for a business deal.

As usual, walking down from my apartment to get a cab to work, as a casual worker under the production department in ARL industry. Just then, I heard someone honking at me...guess what? That was Clara! I happily hopped in as we hugged and exchanged pleasantries.
“ I’m so happy! Can’t believe this is you..what’re you doing around here? Like you’re really back to the country? Oh my! You look beautiful! It’s been years, Clara!”
We talked as she offered to drop me off at work. She’d moved back to assist her Dad in running the company for the meantime. We exchanged contacts, so I could finally pay her a visit.

“Good evening sir, I’ve heard much about you and I’m happy to finally meet you.” I said smiling at Clara’s Dad as I stood side by side with her in their resplendent sitting room.
“ Oh! My daughter said nice things about you..(sitting down) she also talked about considering you working in my company. Sadly for now, there’s no space to accommodate anyone as we’re facing issues and other companies are breaching their contracts with us...” he complained as I listened attentively.

“.....bringing out new designs, collaborating with new companies and creating a different app for easy reach....and finally I’d advice...” I went on and on suggesting and just after....

“Wow! This is brilliant! You know what? You’ll be working as the new Managing Director of my company!Congratulations!” He shouted.

“Oh my God! This is a dream come through!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center