Creativenonfiction #102~` The Lies He Told

As workers going about our daily activities, we sometimes encounter work related problems that we all deal with. My job as an educator is no easy feat at all as it has its own challenges.

pexels-artstel-4019754.jpg

As educators, we not only deal with our students but sometimes their parents as well, especially parents that don't want their kids to be disciplined.

Many years back, the school where I did my teaching practice program was one that encouraged discipline as we believed that learning takes place when there is a permanent change in behavior. This not only helps children to learn better it also helps them adhere to the school rules and regulations.

There was a day in class, during recess. A student complained his snacks were missing. I asked the students if anyone had seen the boys snacks but they all said No.

Then I saw a girl who looks like she has something to say but was contemplating whether to talk or not.

”Yes, Bimpe,Do you know anything about the missing snacks?“, I asked her.

”Yes ma, I saw Frederick eating some snacks this morning. I don't know if it's the same snacks that were missing”She said as we all looked at Frederick.

”No ma, I didn't eat any snacks this morning. She is lying” Frederick said, trying so hard to defend himself.

I figured the only way to find out the truth was to search his bags which I did and indeed found some remnants of the snacks together it's wrapper in his bag.

”My mum bought this snacks for me”, he said, trying to cover up his lies.

”If I call your mum now, would she confirm what you have just said?” I asked him immediately to reach for my phone.

I asked the question again but he was unable to answer. From the fear in his eyes, I knew he stole the other boy's snacks.

”Tell me the truth now before I call her”. I said, trying to get him to tell the truth.

”I didn't take the snacks from his bag, I saw it on the floor and took it”. Frederick said again, trying to add more lies to the one he already told.

”Ahhhhh”, his classmates exclaimed knowing fully well that he was lying and trying to cover up the fact that he stole it.

I was so surprised to see a boy as young as he is tell lies so confidently. I knew he had to be disciplined so he would never think twice about doing such again and afterwards I warned him not to take what doesn't belong to him. I had to get another snack for the boy who owns the snacks.

After the close of the day. The students went home and I quickly had to round off my work for the day before I also leave for home. Since the headteacher wasn't back from where she went to that day, I thought that when I got back home.I would reach out to Frederick’s parents to tell them what he had done but he somehow beat me to it.

I was at the bus stop about to board a bus home when I got a call from my boss saying a parent had complained about how I disciplined a student because he didn't do his assignments.

I was trying to recall when I did that because I knew the only student I disciplined that day was Frederick. I immediately asked if the parents were still in the school and they replied in the affirmative and I quickly rushed down to know if I was indeed the teacher they wanted to see.

As I got back to school, I was surprised but not too surprised to see Frederick and his mum sitting in the Headteacher's office. Upon seeing me, I could immediately see the fear on Frederick's face.

pexels-mikhail-nilov-7929454.jpg

I entered and greeted his mum. I could see the anger on his mother's face as she asked why I would discipline her son because he didn't do his assignments. I relayed all that happened in the class to both his mum and the headteacher and they were shocked to hear what Frederick had done. His mum was so furious at him and told him she would relay what he did to his father. He started crying and pleading that we forgive him.

His mother also apologized to me and commended me for letting them know the truth of the matter.

I looked at Frederick and he couldn't meet my eyes. He told lies severally and probably thought he would get away with it but the tables turned on him.

Image 1

Image 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now