This content was muted by The Ink Well moderators for not following community guidelines.

Nonchalant Attitude

kyle-broad-P9rQn2qcEV0-unsplash.jpg
(Image source)[https://unsplash.com/photos/P9rQn2qcEV0]
When the cracked wall opens it allows lizards, wall geckos, snacks and other crawling animals to enter the house.

This notion implies in the relationship between the couple that we lived together in the same house while I was young. At that time I was living with my elder sister because there was a civil war between Modakeke and Ile-Ife town in Osun State, Nigeria and to allow me to continue with my education, I had to relocate to another town where there was no dispute between the two towns to continue with my education.

While in Gbongan town, the young businessman rented a wing of the house which contains two bedrooms and a living room to entertain visitors whereas my sister occupied one room as a bachelor. The name of this man was Mr Segun and he was into the buying and selling of engine oil while his fiancee's name was Juliet and she was into a textile retail business and many young ladies were learning how to do the business as an apprentice.

Later, Mr Segun and Juliet got married and they were living together as husband and wife. But Juliet was a spoiled brat in her parent's house because she could not wash clothes, prepare meals, or do other house chores. The only thing she likes most is going to the live party, putting on powder and necklaces all over her body. If her husband's clothes are dirty she will soak them with rags and other coloured clothes in one container and use her legs to wash them before spreading them on the dryer. She will not care about the stain on the clothes, and when her husband wears the clothes out people will be pointing their fingers at stained areas on the clothes. At times, Mr Segun will be embarrassed because the stain may be beyond what he could manage.

He decided to talk to his wife about it and suggested taking his clothes to the dry cleaner to avoid unsolicited embarrassment from the people outside. Meanwhile, if Mr Segun drops the money to pay for a dry cleaner she will prefer to use the money to cater for her needs and Mr Segun is a gentleman who does not like trouble. He kept quiet because he is a man of peace and he decided to take his clothes to the dry cleaner shop to avoid misunderstanding at home.

One day, Mr Segun was with his colleagues at the club. They decided among themselves to organize a get -together and it was Mr Segun's residence they chose to do it, and it would be great to eat at his home since he got married to Juliet.

"Wow, that is great! My wife will be glad to welcome you to our home." Said Mr Segun.

When Mr Segun got home, he discussed the matter with his wife Juliet and she suggested that one of her apprentices will assist her with cooking the meals that will be served.

"Mr Segun said alright, I have assured them that you will be glad to welcome them so don't fuck up."

When it was time to prepare meals, it was the most beautiful one among her apprentices that came around to prepare the meals and still served the guests. "One of Mr Segun's colleagues said jokingly this is what our friend enjoys all this while. No wonder he is shining like a mirror."

After the event, in the evening, Mr Segun commended the effort of this Lady and suggested that she should come home to assist his wife once in a while to relieve the stress Juliet had at home in the presence of Juliet and Juliet concurred.

Since that day, Juliet began to send her apprentice (Rose) to the house to cook for Mr Segun and do other home chores while she will be in the shop where she used to sell her goods.

One day, Rose was around the house, as usual, to assist her boss and she could not return to her parent's house because time had gone. Juliet gave her one of her night gans to wear overnight. She dozes off while waiting for Mr Segun on the sofa.

Meanwhile, unknown to Mr Segun that Rose was at home and he was already intoxicated from the club before coming home.

Immediately he entered the living room, he noticed that somebody was on the couch and he said " look at this Lady's balance very well as if she knew that I need her tonight." Mr Segun made love to her as if he was doing it to his wife. After he finished, Rose sat down at one side of the living room crying about the incident. Later, Mr Segun woke up and saw Rose undressed and he was shocked.

"Rose, what happened? How come? How did it happen? Ah! I did not know, please forgive me, it was not my intention to do it." Said Mr Segun.

"So you want to tell me that when you are doing it you did not know? You have experienced a canal knowledge of me and you are telling me rubbish." Rose said.

Mr Segun exclaimed.
"Ah! I didn't do it intentionally. I was intoxicated from the club and I didn't know when I did it. Please forgive me."

"Leave me alone, I will tell your wife about this incident." Said the Rose.

Ah! Please, my wife must not hear it. I am very sorry. It will not repeat itself I promise you. Mr Segun pleaded.

Meanwhile, Juliet had slept off that and she didn't know what was going on.

After some time, Rose was at her parent's house trying to clean up the living room and she fainted and was rushed to the hospital for urgent treatment. When the physician examined her, it was discovered that she was pregnant; this news was disclosed to Rose and her parents. The doctor advised them to register her for ANC and that they should not stress her because of her condition.

When they got home, they summoned Rose and asked her where she got pregnant. Initially, she intended to pretend to be innocent but when her parents Bragg disowned her if she refuses to disclose the identity of the person who impregnated her before she confessed that it was her boss's husband responsible for the pregnancy.

Rose's mother exclaimed.
"No problem, so what you used to say was that my boss sent me home to assist her. It was part of their plan to use you as they wish. They will hear from me."

The following day, at Mr Segun's residence early in the morning. Mr Segun was about to go out, and he stood at the doorstep. Rose's father and Rose were coming towards his home.

Mr Segun was surprised to see them.
"Hehe, this is August's visitor. Dearling! Rose and her Dad are here."

"Yes, you and your wife are the ones we came to see." Rose's father said.

Mr Segun exclaimed.
Ah! I hope there is no problem because I was about to go out when you were coming.

When they got inside, Juliet wasn't comfortable merely seeing Rose's father.
Rose remained standing and flanked by her father.

"Sir, Dad, I hope there is no problem," Juliet said.

Rose's father said "Yes, there is no and there is also a problem at the same time. Suddenly, Rose fainted yesterday and was taken to the hospital for treatment but when we got there we were told that she was pregnant and during the interrogation, we were told that the person that was responsible for it is from this household."

Juliet was furious.
"Who is that unfortunate being that did it? First of all, I trust my husband and he can not do such a thing. He is a responsible man to the core. Now, look at me and tell me Rose, who is that person?"

Rose was terrified and pointed her finger at Mr Segun. "It was Daddy that was responsible for my pregnancy."

"Wow! Bravo, so because you know that my husband is a calm and gentle person you want to put it on him. No way! Is it because we took you as our younger sister and you want to use that opportunity to put it on my husband? Juliet reacted.

Mr Segun nodded and held his head with both hands.
"Sir, what do you want us to do?"

"Thank you, my brother. What I want from you is to take responsibility for the pregnancy and nothing must happen to my daughter. No abortion! It is a serious warning. No one must do that in our family and anyone who finds wanting will face the consequences." Said Rose's father. And he left their home in annoyance.

Mr Segun turned to his wife and kneeled.
"Darling, I have offended you and your God. I indeed am the one responsible for her pregnancy. See, it was a mistake. Not my intention to do it. Please, I am begging you in the name of God to forgive me. This girl is like a sister to us and we should take care of her."

Juliet was furious.
"Never, I can not share my husband with my apprentice. Who does that? Hey, husband's snatcher. Go and get rid of the thing that you call pregnancy."

"Ah! Juliet. I am not in support of this idea. You know that we have been longing for this thing for years. The spirit of this unborn baby will open your womb and you will conceive for me by the grace of God." Mr Segun reacted.

Juliet nodded.
"No, I would rather leave this house than share my man with her."

Mr Segun persuaded her throughout that day and she pretended as if she had concurred but the next day, she packed her luggage out of Mr Segun's home and back to her parent's house after Segun left for his office.

When Mr Segun returned home, he found out that she had left the house. He went to check on her where he knew that he could locate her. But on getting to her parent's house, he found out that she was with her parents. Immediately she saw Mr Segun, she went inside.

"Good day ma, I have come to plead with you to beg my wife on my behalf. I have offended her and need her to forgive me." Mr Segun said.

Julie's mother exclaimed.
"Oh! You don't mean it. But can you tell me what transpired between the two of you?"

"I made a mistake and it was not my intention to do it. Please, I love Juliet." Mr Segun said.

Juliet's mother paused.
"You have to do something for me now. Go Home, let me talk to her. At least, I am her mother."

"Alright, ma'am, thank you." Mr Segun replied.

After Mr Segun left, Juliet's mother called her daughter.

Juliet's mother.
"Hmmm, Juliet! Juliet!! Juliet!!! How many times have I called you?"

"Three times." She replied.

"When I saw you with your luggage, I asked you where you were going but you said that your husband has travelled and you can't stay alone at home and that was the reason for coming here to stay for a while. Now, can you tell me what happened?" Juliet's mother asked.

Juliet sobered.
"Hmmm, Mummy. Do you want to know? Segun has impregnated another person. Not just ordinary people, but he impregnated one of my apprentices and he was pleading not his intention to do it and that I should forgive him. I can't accept flimsy excuses from him. Let me just stay on my own and he should go with his wife. That is my decision."

"Ah! So you mean Segun did all these things you could not tell me your mother? What a disappointment! But look at me, Juliet. What happened has happened, Segun is your legal husband. That indicates that he is your property. Don't allow anyone to take your place. This is my candid advice. Go back to your husband's house and make an amendment. I know it is difficult to do but you have to do it. The Segun I am seeing did not do it intentionally. Please forgive him and let go. I will come and talk to him later. Although, what has happened to you, we, your parents take part of the blame because we failed to guide you in some aspects of marriage and regret our actions. Please, forgive us." Said Juliet's mother.

Juliet exclaimed.
"Ah! Mummy, what this man did is not good and you are the one asking me to go back there again."

"Don't worry, everything will be fine. Let me use this opportunity to tell you the story of how we started. When your father and I got married, we were not rich and even ate twice a day, it is another story. Because we were not born with a silver spoon in our mouths. But I still submitted to your father. From there, God Bless us and we become affluence in society. The only thing we regret is that we forgot how we started to train you very well to be able to stand on your feet. Juliet's mother replied.

That was how Juliet returns to Mr Segun's home and accepts Rose and her pregnancy. After a year, Juliet conceived and delivered a babe bounce boy and things were fine with their family.

          The End
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center