Adequate Reflection-The in well Creative Nonfiction Prompt #33.

In 2019, the scourge of the COVID 19. Pandemic began in our country, and the economic situation was worsening every day: inflation was soaring, the national currency was devalued, prices of basic necessities were skyrocketing. Wages did not correspond to this reality. On the other hand, medicines to improve and control health were in the same order. One day my husband, Efrain and I, passed in front of a store, we looked at ourselves in the mirror of the store, at that moment we realized how skinny we were, we had lost a lot of bone mass. My husband turned away from the mirror, he could not bear to see his face and body in that state. I, on the other hand, stared at my figure and my face for a long time and I could see how the wrinkles on my face were accentuated and how my tiny figure was transformed.

My husband called me:

"Come on, what are you doing standing there?" I replied:

"I hadn't looked in a full-length mirror in years." I paused, a little excited and exclaimed:

"I just contemplated how old I am, how the lines of expression on my complexion are tangled with each other!"

He with much sarcasm answered me:

"Don't worry, you no longer have a choice to participate in the Miss Venezuela Pageant."

I, let out a laugh. After that, we started shopping for some supplies of the basic basket, because all the prices were sky high.

When we arrived at our house, after preparing food and dinner. Then we got to talking. He made a reflection:

"Listen, this situation Country, it is very bad; I think, I will not be able to resist it, in case I depart from this world. I pray to God that it will be me before you."

My eyes flooded with tears, like the Iguazu Falls. I hugged him tightly, I felt my body trembling with so much passion. Very excited and very sweetly, I spoke to him:

"Don't leave me, I love you too much!"!

He answered me:

"I love you too,"

His voice broke, so as not to let out a cry, he took a deep breath. Then he continued:

"You know, that apart from this situation, diabetes consumes me more and more every day, medicines, for this disease, became scarce".
I replied:

"My love, calm, only God will dispose who of us will leave first".
He smiled, hugged me, and said:

"Let's go to sleep, tomorrow will be another day". So we did.
After two years, Efrain became ill, he had only eight days in a serious, critical condition. He passed away. On May 11, 2021. On that day of that month, of this year 2023, he completed 2 years of passing to another dimension. At that moment, in the solitude of my room, I cried inconsolably his departure.

Today, I have learned to live alone, with the company of her memories. I recall the day he made the reflection that he wanted to be the first to go to the afterlife. At that moment he had a very assertive decision.

Currently in our country, the economic situation has improved, I have recovered my bone mass, since I have increased my weight, reaching the one I had. The expression lines on my skin continue, as they are expressions of my years and I wear them with pride.


This is a non-fiction story
I hope you like it
the drawings are mine
use deepl translator

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center