A Changed Birthday Celebration Plan.

After I finished serving my fatherland, I dropped a letter on the table of the head teacher. It wasn’t necessary but I felt that will be a polite way to say goodbye to the school.
The letter goes thus; ”Dear head teacher, I’m grateful for your kindness towards me during my stay here and I will like to move on with my journey of life. I now have a minimart that I am managing and I hope it grow bigger. I am happy about all the experiences I’ve had here. Thank you so much.”

That was all I had in my letter and I’m sure the head teacher was teary while she was reading that. She called me into her office after she read the letter and congratulated me on opening a minimart. She gave me an amount of money and some other teachers gave me money too. That was just like a sent forth celebration for me.


Source

I was able to make beautiful friends at work so they all congratulated me on ending the youth service and also opening a store. I made four close friends at work and we were so close that we go out together and even sleep over at each other’s places.
My friends were so eager to see my store and sleep over at my house but I hadn’t gotten my apartment yet. I had the money to rent the apartment but I hadn’t seen an apartment I would like so I made a plan. The plan was to invite them over for my birthday celebration and by then, I must have rented a very good apartment for myself.

”Hey girls, I would like to celebrate my forthcoming birthday and I think that would be the perfect time for you all to know my store so let’s just chill till then and I’m sure everything will be set,” I sent this message to my friends on our group chat.

I got a positive response from them and begun to make plans for the birthday party. I started buying drinks and all the things we will use for my birthday celebration. I bought and kept them inside my shop and my house hunting continued but I still haven’t gotten the kind of apartment I want. All I’ve been seeing are old houses or the ones that are too small.
I made a mistake of not sending a message to my friends about my current situation and that was because I already bragged about the apartment I will be renting soon so they all thought I had rented the apartment already even though they didn’t ask me.

On my birthday, they kept on calling me but I couldn’t pick because I didn’t know what to tell them. I was so scared of telling my friends that the plans may change and I had not rented the apartment. The calls were becoming too much so I picked the call.

”Hey babes, I’m sorry. My phone was with me but I could not pick because I didn’t know what to say. I am sorry that our plans will change because I haven’t rented my apartment yet but I already bought all the things we’d be needing for the celebration,” I said that to one of my friends.

”It’s not a big deal. You should have told us earlier so that we can make better plans but we will come to your shop so we can step out from there,” she responded to me and I was very happy because I thought my friends were going to judge me for disappointing them and not sticking to the plan.
I felt very bad about making plans with the house that I had not rented because I could have just made plans with what I had. I felt embarrassed in the presence of my friends but I am glad that they understood my situation.
They still came on that day to know my store and we had fun even though it was not maximum fun due to how we had planned the birthday party before and I even received some gifts from them and it was one of the best birthdays of my life even though my plans got ruined but we found a way to make it a very beautiful celebration.


Source

Since then, I made sure never to count my chickens before they hatch. Right now, if something doesn’t happen, I don’t make plans with them so history won’t have to repeat itself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments