Maria's Greed

Ours is a middle-class family and we are very much satisfied with the little we have. I stood by my Mom's room corner eavesdropping on the conversation she had with Dad. “Maria can't go to school for now she'll have to wait for her brother Sam to finish from the tertiary institution first before she can apply for jamb”. Mom said with tears in her eyes.


Source

I knew Mom would come up with such a suggestion because we had just lost our little market business to the fire outbreak that took place at the market some weeks ago. And dad couldn't go to work again since he got into a fatal accident that damaged his right leg. But I was also well aware of the fact that Maria wouldn't agree to it. And why would she, the last time Mom bought her a rubber flat shoe, the look on her face while collecting the shoe from Mom was with a lot of disdain.

Had Mom given me that shoes I would have jumped and given her a hug. To begin with, Maria has never accepted any gift given to her with a smile on her face before. Be it Dad, Mom, or big brother. The only time she returned home with so much joy and laughter was when her friends gave her loads of gifts for her birthday. I watched her as she unwrapped each gift screaming and jumping in excitement. The gifts were all fancy and expensive as well and she couldn't contain her happiness for that day.

I waited in the sitting room for Mom to come out so I told her I was willing to suspend studies as long as Maricouldan went to school. I know very well how she will react to sitting home for one more year before going to school and I didn't want that to happen to her. Yes I know Maria is greedy but I'm not blind to see her love for anything about school or education. If suspending studies would make her happy, then I'm willing to do it.

Mom stepped out of the room and the moment she saw me she quickly wiped off the tears from her eyes. “What are you doing here Sarah? She asked with so many questions in her eyes. “Mom, I'm sorry to say this but I overheard you and Dad's conversation, but to be honest with you Mom, it's not wise to keep Maria back home. You know how much she takes her studies seriously and she also does well. Mom, I still have two years left before I can finish the tertiary institution and I feel it's ok for me to suspend studies in the meantime so that Maria can go.

“Shut up! Mom scolded me. “Don't talk nonsense now, you need to finish school first and on time as well” She yelled at me.
I knew Mom would react this way because she has always failed to see Maria as the elephant in the room. Her greed and her ungrateful attitude will only trouble Mom and Dad. Just because she's the last born she still thinks she's young and would mend her way sooner than later. I needed to suspend study so I could get something that I could earn so much from as well so I could support both Maria and myself in school. But I didn't know how to convince Mom on that. Leaving Maria home will only land her in so much trouble as she won't be able to control her greed which might lead her to one problem or the other.
I gave my best shot and to no avail did Mom listen. But the moment Maria threatened to go stay with our wealthy Aunt in the City she immediately gave in.

“Don't think I'll come kneeling before you go say thank you just because you've sacrificed going to school for my sake. I won't do that”. She smirked and walked away. I couldn't help but bow my head in shame at how Mom had failed to scold her every time she messed up.
I returned home from Maria's College completely shattered and broken after I got the expulsion letter from the principal that Maria was no longer their student. The letter said she was expelled as she was caught cheating in her SS2 mock exams. This means that she has been showing us fake results from school.


Source

How do I convince myself that this is a lie aside from being greedy she's also a cheat? And this has been happening right under our nose. Oh no, Mom and Dad would be shattered if they were to find out about this.

THANK YOU FOR READING.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments