Path Diverged!!!


20240917_120043_0000.png

"I have always known that every human being has a different path to take. Some take the easiest path to success while some choose the other way, and in the end are left stuck on the road wishing they could turn the hands of the clock. Whatever our decisions in the past will determine our present." This was me some days ago talking to myself in the room due to a discussion my two sisters and I had on the WhatsApp group. I felt unhappy how the whole events turned out.

A month ago, a cousin of mine, Blessing, not her real name who was the same age as my big sister chatted me up and asked for my younger sister's contact. Blessing is always online to view my status and uploads hers daily where she sells shoes, bags etc. She used to send me a "Hi" once in a while to which I would reply her when I can. But on this day, when she asked for her contact, I didn't hesitate before sending it because I remember how we used to be many years ago.


She was so close to my big sister and were childhood friends, together with one other cousin who is late now. The trio grew up with my late grandmother and were always seen together like snails crawling as a team. They never left themselves even when they came home for Christmas every year. After many years, they separated, and the other cousin chose the wrong path, struggled to feed her kids from different fathers. In the end, she lost her life.

Blessing also got separated from my sister when she got married at an early age. Her aunt supported her when she said she wanted to get married but she didn't have anyone to advise her to pursue her career first and think of marriage later especially when she didn't go to an higher institution. It seemed as if she wanted marriage than any other thing and she got it.


After I gave her the contact, she thanked me. I never knew she had a different reason for that until my younger sister sent to the group chat a screenshot of the chat from my cousin.

"What is the meaning of this? Why would she send me something like this when we don't talk at all?", my younger sister added to the screenshot and when I saw it, I confessed to her of giving her number when she asked for it not knowing it was for that reason.

I guess Blessing must have thought my sister was working overseas for her to think asking for help to get a new shop was right. My sister instead replied that she is a student and not working and that ended it.


My big sister came online and that was how she began sharing her experience with Blessing. "She used to message me once in a while also but the relationship is not there anymore. She isn't free herself to keep the conversation going as the separation ended years ago", my big sister said.

"Hmm. So, she needs our help now with how she disconnected herself from us after how many years now." I continued, wanting the conversation to keep going.

"Yes, she allowed her aunt dictate for her and that is her business. We were very close then but it is what it is", my sister replied.


Ever since they separated years ago and my cousin's aunt had created a division between them, the relationship went down and she never cared to call my big sister but to message once in a while. Blessing has never for once called my younger sister not until some weeks ago when she chatted to ask for such help.

My big sister chose a path where she had to pursue her career and make sure she was doing fine. Now, we are always grateful for the decision she took when her family always wanted her to get married early enough. She stood her ground to be the best not minding what others did and the path to success has been an amazing journey for her.

We had long talks about my cousin and how her aunt had helped to ruin the relationship between her and my sister, perhaps the bond would be stronger today but as it is, everyone goes on different paths and it is what one chooses, the outcome will be revealed.


Thumbnail Image designed on Canva

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments