Stuck On The Road.

My heart raced as I sat in a bus stuck in traffic, thinking about what to do next. It was a Monday morning, and the traffic was heavy as usual.

The thought of knowing what the road looked like ahead crossed my mind, so I immediately reached for my phone.

I checked Google Maps to see what was awaiting me and other commuters on the road before making a decision.

Unfortunately for me, there was nothing I could do to beat the traffic because the road was completely tight, and according to the map, it would take another 2 hours extra for me to complete the trip.

UNSPLASH

I became restless and immediately chatted my sister up since she gave me the link to do the job.

"Sis, please, can you help me talk to anyone at the company? I am still stuck in traffic, and it's a standstill situation," I texted my big sister.

"You are not serious with your life, Dara, and how can you still be on the road by this time of the day?" She replied, adding an angry emoji.

"I left home very early, but the traffic is just something else," I replied, and she didn't reply to me until about 15 minutes later.

I was worried she would get mad at me and didn't know if I should just sit on the bus, knowing well that I couldn't get the job or just return home.

I was lost in thought when my phone vibrated, and it was my sister. I tapped on the screen, and her message displayed.

"I called someone already, but he's not certain if you can be snuggled in. Just go and pray that God help you."

"Thanks, sis," I replied. A part of me was happy while I was sad, on the other hand, because of the but in my sister's text. I couldn't help but think about the worst that could happen to me.

"Past 8," I stuttered, staring at my wristwatch about an hour later. It was annoying how we had barely moved for 20 minutes in the last one hour.

I closed my eyes immediately and whispered as I prayed to God for help because I needed that job.

"Amen! Amen!!" The man sitting next to me whispered, and I gently opened my eyes to see what was happening.

He met me with a smile, and I smiled back even though nothing was funny. He looked like someone in his 30s, and judging by his outfit, he was going to work.

"I guess you are praying we all get to our destination quickly," he said to me.

"I am praying for myself, but it should automatically work for everyone," I replied.

"Don't be selfish next time because we are all late because of the traffic," he replied.

"That's true, but my case is different," I replied, smiling because he was ignorant about my situation.

"Hope it's nothing too serious, you should send a video recording or text to your HR so he or she can understand that something beyond your power is keeping you away from work," he replied.

"I wish I could; I am going for an interview. I can't imagine losing this opportunity after a long time," I replied.

"Oh, sorry about that," he replied.

"Thanks," I replied, and I just focused on the road again.

He kept talking to me about what the road traffic could be, and I managed to answer because I wasn't interested in the conversation anymore. Everything in my mind was about getting to the place of the interview and nothing more.

Around 9 p.m., we finally got out of the traffic, and it annoyed me more to know that there was no particular reason for the traffic.

"Can you imagine?" We can't even tell what the cause of the traffic is," the man said to me again.

"That's Lagos oooo and only God knows why we have been sitting on the bus for over two hours. Very annoying," I replied and hissed.

The gentleman smiled and asked where I would alight.

"Maryland! Just two bus stops away," I replied and reached for my phone to text my sister again.

I did text my sister, and after that, the next I heard was, Aren't you alighting at Maryland anymore?"

The voice seemed very far from me, so I turned to see who it was.

"Oh, yes. Maryland," I stuttered, readjusting my hair.

"Thanks a lot! I can't believe I got carried away shortly."

"It happens like that, you must be thinking about your interview. I wish you good luck," he replied.

"Driver, I am alighting now," I informed the bus driver, who complained about not informing him earlier.

He pulled over after grumbling for a few seconds and I alighted from the bus, waving to the gentlemen who kept my company in the bus for a while.

As I trekked in the direction of the company I was going using the Map description, I kept hoping that my interview could be rescheduled. Upon arriving there, I was allowed to take a written test while the oral test was rescheduled.

I felt relieved to an extent and was happy things turned out how I wanted.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now