A New Beginning

Cintha is my neighbor and friend. We both moved into the lodge on the same day, I in the morning and she in the evening.

Source
I remembered how she complained about everything in her bedroom, kitchen, and toilet. Since I didn't know her then, I focused on my business until she knocked on my door to ask for a hammer and nails.

I didn't have any, but I knew someone who might. A mechanical engineering student, though in his first year, he was well-equipped with some basic tools that he loved. I first met him when I came with my parents to check on the house. He was so friendly and respectful, traits that earned him a compliment from my father.

"The second room at the backyard," I directed Cintha.

That's when I really checked her out. Tall, had full natural hair, cute round face, and a curvy backside. A shade darker than me, she was a stunning young lady. Though I don't fancy people who don't talk much, she was different, friendly, and always smiling. It didn't take long for us to bond.

I started noticing some of her problems when we began going out together. The first incident occurred when we went out to refill our gas cylinder. A man, who I estimated to be in his late twenties, chased after us and requested to talk to her. From his expression, I sensed a hint of disappointment on his face during their conversation. He then left, claiming she resembled someone he knew. I trusted his explanation, but Cintha didn't. Despite that, he got her contact details but never reached out.

Similar situations occurred with a few other men on multiple occasions. Those who did call would inquire if she lived alone, if they could visit her, or if she could visit them at their lodge.

Cintha's flaws became more evident as her confidence started to waver. It was clear she was seeking a boyfriend desperately, which concerned me as her friend.

"Is not that I'm not beautiful, so what could be the problem?" Cintha asked. She must have mustered up enough courage to say that since she's not one to share her burdens. However, I was pondering the same question, so I didn't have a suitable answer for her.

"What if you stop wanting," I suggested, and she agreed. It didn't take long before I noticed she seldom spent time at my place. She seemed more engrossed in her phone, and I suspected she had found a man.
I wasn't concerned since she hadn't mentioned anything to me.

pexels-karolina-grabowska-6134926.jpg

Source

After months had gone by, Cintha finally returned to study in my room.
"You still remember where my room is? I hope all is well" I teased.

"I didn't forget you. Just that I've been busy with stupid people," she replied.

I didn't inquire about the stupid people, as it would have led to a lengthy discussion during our study time.

But after about one hour, I noticed tears rolling down her cheeks. I was shocked because she seemed fine until now.

"Cintha, are you okay?" I asked, joining her on the bed where she was sitting to read.

"Men are scum!" she said, and more tears began to stream down her face.

"Sorry. Did anyone hurt you?" I asked.

"No. I'm the one who hurt myself. I should have known from the onset that he didn't love me," she sobbed.
"Phyna, I've been dating myself for about three months now."

"How? What do you mean?" I asked. She went on to explain how she's been a side chick to someone's serious boyfriend. The guy had lied that he's in need of a serious relationship, and she, who was also looking for the same thing, fell for it. All was good until she surprised him with a visit.
The most painful of all is that the other girl served her a soft drink; she thought the girl was his relative until he entered the room, and the other girl called him "babe." She was yet to recover from the shock when he asked her why she came.
"He told me he never asked me to be his girlfriend. And after giving it much thought, I realized it's the truth. Brian has never asked me to be his girlfriend," said Cintha.
"I was overthinking it when he told me he loves me and that he needs a serious relationship," she said.

"Am I not good enough?" asked Cintha.

"You are. You just haven't met the right person," I said.

"You know, Brian has been pressuring me to sleep with him. So would that have been 'just friends' too?" she said.

"I'm so sorry you have to go through all that. But you know you still have a lot of things ahead of you. You shouldn't allow people to treat you the way they want," I said.

"All my friends that we got admission together all have boyfriends. Even my ex has moved on," she said, more to herself.

"How about me? I'm single, and it doesn't bother me. With the kind of advice they gave me at home, a boyfriend is not even an option in my first year of studies. We should focus more on building our CGPA," I said.

We talked all night, and Cintha's focus shifted from finding love to her studies. She decided to concentrate more on self-improvement and her Oriflame business.

"You fidget when you talk to people. Even your expressions show you lack confidence," I said sincerely when she asked about her social life.

"That's because people don't like me at first sight," she said.

"But that shouldn't bother you, as long as you like yourself," I said.

"You know, this breakup is like a wake-up call for me. I've been seeking people's love that I forget about myself in the process," said Cintha with her head down.

"I'm glad it's not too late. We should focus more on ourselves, our future, and on the people that matter," I said.

"Aww, my baby advising me tonight. What should I get for you?" Cintha said, playfully pouting.

"Get me a private jet. That's not too much to ask, right?" I replied.

"It's not too much to ask. But I can't afford it now. When I find a rich husband, he'll buy it for you," she said.

"I thought you'd changed. So you still want to get married?"

"Why not? Not all men are the same," Cintha said.

"But thanks to you, I'm not interested in a relationship for now," she added. With that, Cintha turned over a new leaf. She was already falling behind academically, so she promised herself to do better next semester.
As for giving men her contacts, she stopped, except for those who are interested in buying Oriflame from her.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center