Escape: A Needed Factor In Turmoil

From the very early stage of my education and perhaps life, when I started learning words and their meanings, I have always known 'escape’ to be ‘ a break away or get free from something, someone or even some situations in order to avoid a threatening evil. As a young boy, I would so much appreciate it whenever I got an escape each time I got myself in trouble and the overwhelming joy that would follow my escape always lingered for days in my heart. At a point, it became a constant fun to wish for trouble believing that means of escape would follow it.

Escape comes in two forms; either it's pre planned or just a sheer luck through the mercy of God.


Mohamed_Hassan

December 31, 2009 remains a memorable day in my life. An eventful day that occasioned serious escape for me. It was not just an ordinary Thursday, but a day that opened the door for the weekend and handed us to the new year 2010. It was a busy day for all and sundry. Badagry ( an ancient town in Lagos State) also had its fair share of the ever busy nature of the eve of a new year.

My mother was a trader at Seme border dealing in provisions and drinks. Very well known in the business and as Iya Ijebu. Customs, immigration officers, agents among others majorly patronized her.

During holidays and strikes while in the University, I usually visited her severally to help out in sales and also to impress her for more packages when returning to school. These constant visitations to her shop gave me a good opportunity to know a good number of officers deployed to that border at that time.

I just arrived home in Badagry on the 30th of December, 2009 from Bokkos in Plateau State where I had my one year NYSC program. Mum couldn't come back home that day to welcome me as she needed to stay over in Seme in order to keep up with the 11th hour sales rush envisaged ahead. Instead, she requested I come over the next day ‘31st’ to help out as usual. I couldn't resist such invitation for two reasons; I have missed my Mum a lot, and secondly, I was going to get all I wanted to celebrate the new year with my local friends and most especially my girlfriend. So,very early in the morning I set out on my journey to Seme border. Badagry-Seme express way is an international road and you can only imagine how busy the road will be on that day for road users coupling with the high numbers of check points available. The only remedy for journey stress and fatigue on that road especially on a day such as that is to leave home very early.

After series of stoppings and checkings by various law enforcement officers stationed at different points, our vehicle eventually got to the destination. Very excited to see my beautiful Mum and the growth her business has gained over the year.

I was dressed in my ceremonial NYSC khaki uniform with my id card hung around my neck just to make her see a live picture of her corper son. Just imagine the joy of a proud mother at that moment. Little did I know that my appearance in complete uniform would be my saving grace from the impending ordeal lying ahead of me.

It was hardly an hour I got there when she ran out of stocks owing to increased sales earlier imagined. She had already sold nearly all goods she had in the shop and the day was still very much young. It was crystal clear that customers in their numbers would still come around to buy things. The only solution was to go and bring more goods from the main store where she normally used as wharehouse. Unfortunately, the driver of her pick up for Van had already parked the vehicle after bringing it to the shop in the morning and left for his work place only to return in the evening and take it back home. There's a Van but no driver and the pressure to bring goods kept mounting. I volunteered to drive the vehicle after all I was there to help out in the first place. Mum was reluctant at first until I told her I am a government child (as we used to say in local parlance) nothing will happen.

Open clipart-vectors
I put the vehicle on the road and began to drive towards the place where the store was located. The distance between the shop and the main store was a bit far. The first check point gave me free passage on recognition likewise the second point too. Getting to the next check point, there was a combination of Federal patrol teams of both Federal road safety corps and the Nigeria police who stopped me despite my full regalia and id card on me. “Young man can I see your driver license please” an FRSC officer asked me, not available here sir, I reluctantly responded. Immediately, he asked me to park the vehicle on the side of the road, turn off the engine and bring out the vehicle particulars. At that moment I knew I was in for something.

Reaching for the save to fetch the documents, I became dumbfounded to see that the particulars had expired over a year ago. Having seen that also, the officer just proceeded to checking the tyres and other parts of the vehicle for defaults. The rear light, backscreen and a side mirror had serious issues. Just at that moment I realized the reason my Mum was hesitant to let me drive the van. “ I'm going to impound this vehicle for several reasons” said the officer and instantly I fell into a deep ocean of pleading and started begging for mercy. At that time, the spirit of 'government child’ had desserted me and I became too cold and soft beyond any possible description.

Just as I was praying for mercy both on the outside and the inside, a superior officer crossed to our side from the other side of the road to ease himself. After getting his bodily peace back, he asked what the problem was and was duly told. He castigated me for trying to use my identity to cover up knowing fully well that the vehicle ought not to be on the road. All I could say was I'm very sorry sir, please temper justice with mercy. He asked where I had my service year and I told him at Government Senior Secondary School, Bokkos in Plateau State. That got him thrilled as he declared he's from the place and that was his old secondary school.

Having noticed his excitement, trust me ( as a sharp Lagos boy) I began to tell him how nice his town and the people were citing some instances of their warm hospitality towards me. He could only nod his head to affirm my submissions. The next thing I heard was “officer please let this boy go, this one is a government child”. You needed to see the speed with which I left the place should in case there would be a change of mind. Thank God I was able to escape a severe trouble starring me in the face. I learnt my lesson in a great way and ever since I dare not dare anything beyond me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center