I need to do more of reading.


designed in canva.

"Hey Kachi, last semester you promised us you will change and start following us to read every night, so let's go." Murphy said

"I really can't remember making such a promise, me?" I acted lost and like I had loss of memory just so I don't go with them

"Of course you did, if you don't want to go just say and stop making me look like a liar." Murphy responded with a look on his face

"No problem, I was only joking with you, you guys can go, I will come later." I said knowing deep down I was not leaving my bed for anything

"You better come, if not I ...." Murphy was still talking before I interrupted him

"Don't worry, I will be there before you know it, you don't have to threaten me." I interrupted

When it comes to studying as a student, I used to be one of those students who are in a toxic relationship with their books until it is exams period and we end up working things out, I am not the type that reads every night even though my friends have tried to change me into becoming a student like that but I am too strong headed to be changed so they left me. I see students who read every night from the very first day of resumption, but then there is me who waits until it is few weeks to exams. This habit was all fun and makes school a lot less stressful until it is exams period and I really did like it until things went sideways.

I already had my plans for the night mapped out and following them to study will only spoil things for me, planned on how I will see movies and play games. Something fun and going to study might not even be fun at all, I thought I was having all the fun while they were stressing. The next day we had class by 8am, which is something I really don't like.

"Hey, kachi hope you are going for class this morning?" Murphy called as early as possible to be sure I was going

image is mine.

"Yeah, definitely, I don't like 8am classes does not mean I won't attend them." I responded as I rushed to prepare and not waste his time

On reaching the venue for the class, I was smiling and exchanging pleasantries with other coursemates until the lecture walked in and the whole atmosphere changed as everyone had to keep a very serious face as the lecturer was not the fun type, he always sticks to business and not deviate even for a moment.

"Good morning class, what was our last topic, I need one of you to tell me about the last thing we discussed before we continue." The lecturer said

The whole class went silent for a minute or two before my friend raised up his hands to answer, with my friend being the only one who has an idea of what happened in the last class the lecture got angry and singled him out to the front of the class to stay there alone and asked the rest of us to get a piece of paper as we are about to write his test.

"But sir you never told us about a test today, sir please." The class representative tried to plead with him

"That is why this one is called an impromptu test, bring out a piece of paper and do the needful unless you want to come back and rewrite it next year." The lecturer responded

Some who also read the previous night were very happy after the impromptu test, while I was sad I did not write anything. I knew this was a wake up call as I had a lot of reading to do, even if not every night at least to prepare me for situations like this.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center