Creative Nonfiction: Full belly, happy heart/ Barriga llena, corazón contento (ENG/ ESP)


image.png

Pixabay

Full belly, happy heart

waited for grandma to leave the dining room to go out to the back of the house. She had a plate of rice in her hands, with a slice, salad and chopped chicken. I looked towards the door of the house and when I saw that no one was coming, I threw what I had on the plate on the roof of the house. Like an expert, because I had done that before, I took the food in my hands and threw it in several pieces.

Then I went back to the kitchen and pretended I was eating. When my grandmother came back and saw the empty plate, she asked me:

"Did you eat everything?"

"All of it,” I said, rubbing my belly.

I was about 7 years old and I didn't like to eat. It wasn't that I didn't like a particular kind of food, it was just that I was lazy to eat and I got full quickly. It could take me hours to eat and if I didn't like something, like stews or soups, if I ate the first bite, I would gag and cry for my grandmother to give me the food as if I were a baby.


image.png

Pixabay

Every time they found the trash can full of food, I was not only scolded or punished, but I had to take vitamins and bitter concoctions to make me want to eat, but it was still impossible for me to eat all the food that was put on my plate.

But after I discovered that I could throw food on the roof of my house, I fooled my parents and grandmother into thinking I was savoring the food served with delight. I no longer minded the onions, nor the chopped garlic, nor did I care for the mild spicy taste of pepper or the strong flavor of bay leaves, I no longer ate broccoli, beans, cabbage, because everything, after swallowing a few bites, I would scatter on the ceiling.

But that day everything would be different. After washing my plate, I went to watch TV, which I could only watch if I ate all my lunch. Sitting in front of the TV, I listened as a big storm started. The big, thick raindrops began to fall on the house and after several minutes I heard my grandmother and my mother calling me:


image.png

Pixabay

"Nancy del Carmen, come here!" -I assumed the worst, because only when I was in trouble, they called me by my full name; but even so, I went to where they were. When I saw them, I realized that they were both furious. My grandmother was the one who pointed me to the courtyard. When I saw it, I realized that the gods had turned their back on me: the rain had washed off the roof of the house and all the food was strewn on the ground. Rice, beans, chicken, potatoes, corn husks and leftover food that I didn't remember throwing away. With no escape or excuse, I began to cry because I knew what was coming was not good for me.

That time, however, my parents acted differently. There was no punishment, no scolding, no fighting. They just said:

"If you don't want to eat anymore, we won't give you any more food",_ they agreed and left me there, watching how the rain passed by, finding its way, leaving the typical smell of wet earth, .


image.png

Pixabay

After about two hours I felt hungry and found nothing in the fridge to feed me, nor in the oven or in the cupboard. I decided to wait for dinner, but when all my sisters were served, my plate was empty:

"Grandma and my food?" -I asked her, thinking she would give me some of what I had made, but no. My grandmother, like a military man, didn't even flinch. My sisters didn't give me either and I just had to watch them eat. From that moment on, my stomach turned into a hungry monster that growled every now and then:

"Abuelita, I'm hungry",_ I implored, but no one paid any attention to me. At night, when I saw that they turned off the lights at home, ready to sleep, I cried and asked my parents to forgive me, that I would never throw food away again. They took pity on me and looked for a bowl of oatmeal and gave it to me. Never before in my life had I been so hungry, never had I been so happy to have a bowl full of oatmeal, and never had I eaten with such gusto as I did that day.

At night, as I slept, not hungry, satiated, I surely smiled, dreaming not of the forgiveness I had achieved, but of the sweet taste of that tasteless food that to me had tasted like heaven.

All images are free of charge and the text is my own, translated in Deepl

image.png

Thank you for reading and commenting. Until a future reading, friends


![Click here to read in spanish]
Barriga llena, corazón contento
Esperé que la abuela se quitara del comedor para salir al fondo de la casa. Llevaba en las manos un plato de arroz, con tajada, ensalada y pollo troceado. Miré hacia la puerta de la casa y al ver que no venía nadie, tiré lo que tenía en el plato sobre el techo de la casa. Como toda una experta, porque ya eso lo había hecho antes, tomé la comida en las manos y la lancé en varias partes.
Después volví a la cocina e hice que estaba comiendo. Cuando mi abuela volvió y vio el plato vacío, me preguntó:
_¿Te comiste todo?
_Todo –dije yo sobándome la panza.
Tenía como 7 años y no me gustaba comer. No era que no me gustara un tipo de comida en particular, sino que me daba flojera comer y me llenaba rápido. Podía tardar horas comiendo y si algo no me gustaba, como los guisos o las sopas, si comía un primer bocado, tenía arcadas y me ponía a llorar para que mi abuela me diera la comida como si fuera un bebé. >Cada vez que encontraban el bote de basura lleno de comida no solo me regañaban o castigaban, sino que debía tomar vitaminas y brebajes amargos para que me dieran ganas de comer, pero aún así era imposible que me comiera todo los alimentos que me ponían en el plato.
Pero después que descubrí que podía botar la comida sobre el techo de mi casa, engañaba a mis padres y a mi abuela haciéndoles creer que saboreaba con deleite la comida servida. Ya no me molestaron las cebollas, ni los ajos troceados, tampoco me importaba el suave sabor picante de la pimienta o el sabor fuerte del laurel, ya no volví a comer brócolis, vainitas, repollos, porque todo, después de tragar unos pocos bocados, lo esparcía sobre el techo.
Pero aquel día todo sería diferente. Luego de lavar el plato, fui a ver la tele, la cual solo podía ver si me comía todo mi almuerzo. Sentada frente al televisor, escuché cómo se iniciaba una gran tormenta. Las grandes y gruesas gotas de lluvia comenzaron a caer sobre la casa y luego de varios minutos escuché a mi abuela y a mi madre que me llamaban:
_¡Nancy del Carmen, ven acá! –supuse lo peor, porque solo cuando estaba en problemas, me llamaban por mi nombre completo; pero aun así, fui para dónde estaban ellas. Al verlas, me di cuenta que las dos estaban furiosas. Mi abuela fue la que me señaló que viera el patio. Cuando lo vi, me di cuenta que los dioses me habían dado la espalda: la lluvia había lavado el techo de la casa y toda la comida estaba regada en el piso. Arroz, habichuela, pollo, papás, cáscara de cambur y restos de comidas que yo no recordaba haber tirado. Sin ninguna escapatoria o excusa, comencé a llorar porque sabía que lo que vendría no era bueno para mí.
Sin embargo, aquella vez mis padres actuaron diferente. No hubo castigos, ni regaños, ni pelea. Solo dijeron:
_Si no quieres comer más, no te daremos más comida –acordaron y me dejaron allí, viendo cómo la lluvia pasaba, encontrando su camino, dejando el típico olor a tierra mojada, .
Como a las dos horas sentí hambre y no encontré nada en la nevera para alimentarme, tampoco en el horno ni en la alacena. Decidí esperar la cena, pero cuando a todas mis hermanas les sirvieron la comida, mi plato quedó vacío:
_¿Abuela y mi comida? –le pregunté creyendo que me daría de lo que había hecho, pero no. Mi abuela como un militar, ni se inmutó. Mis hermanas tampoco me dieron y solo tuve que observarlas comer. A partir de ese momento, mi estómago se convirtió en un monstruo hambriento que gruñía a cada rato:
_Abuelita, tengo hambre –imploraba, pero nadie me hizo caso. En la noche, cuando vi que en casa apagaron la luz, dispuestos a dormir, fue cuando largué el llanto y les pedí a mis papás que me perdonaran, que jamás volvería a botar la comida. Ellos se apiadaron de mí y buscaron un tazón de avena y me lo dieron. Nunca antes en mi vida había sentido tanta hambre, nunca me había alegrado tanto de tener un plato lleno de avena y jamás había comido con tanto gusto como ese día.
En la noche, mientras dormía, sin hambre, saciada, seguramente sonreía, soñando no con el perdón que había logrado, sino con el dulce sabor de aquel alimento insípido que para mí había sabido a cielo.>/br>

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center