That Start!!

Starting is crucial; often, things fade out due to the lack of a start. I can relate to many incidents where I haven't gathered enough courage to take the first step to start the task, resulting in a missed opportunity. Also, many incidents led to the realization that I was cursing myself; why did I start this? hehe. So yeah, it goes both ways, positive and negative for us; let's see what's down to portrait next.

santa-barbara-NCSARCecw4U-unsplash.jpg
📸 Santa Barbara

Often, I rush at things, even at the things that are crucial and need proper attention. During the end of my school days. I was proudly a teenager who knew lots of stuff, being a responsible guy. So, one day, I had a few tasks to do one after another. One of them was to transfer some money to someone else, and I also had to reach somewhere before a particular time. I was late, so I started to hurry; while transferring the money, being in the rush, I had selected the mobile recharge option instead of send money. Imagine an amount of 100 USD as someone's mobile balance without any undo options, and in a country like mine, this amount used to be the monthly expense for a whole family.

I went out with the fear that I had messed up pretty badly; out of home, I didn't have the internet. So I was walking, my hands were shaking on and on, my legs were not moving at all, I was feeling cold with fear, I had to sit somewhere and think how I was gonna manage as it wasn't meant to be like that. After that, whatever I was doing was getting messy. I appeared late at the destination, misbehaved with a friend, and forgot to bring a few stuff as per the given list by my mother while going out. I mean, I had a bad start, and due to that, everything else was falling apart. All I was thinking about was the messed up amount of money on how to solve that issue.

I came back and connected back to the internet. I got the call to whom I was told to send the money. Seeing the phone ring, I was trembling with fear about what to say. I received the call and was ready to cry and apologize for the mistake, and he just asked why I hadn't I sent the money yet, no sign of it. I was shocked; didn't he receive the mobile recharge notifications? Or that the wrong transaction didn't go through. I ended the call and checked the balance; thankfully the whole amount was there. It's because there is a limit on how much we can mobile recharge at a single transaction. My amount was way bigger than that, and that's why the transaction failed, and I didn't notice that. I was just running the whole day thinking about that start as the worst one. If I had been careful enough to recheck then I wouldn't have to go through this immense stress, I can still feel the warmth of fear.

One bad start and everything else was getting spoiled; when I looked back at that starting point, I found out that I got saved by an inch, a bit of relaxation, and the rest of the day was saved.


Join this week's Creative Nonfiction Prompt by TheInkWell Community

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center