A Rare Birthday Surprise - My First [Creative Non-Fiction]

It was almost like a tradition in my family that birthdays aren't prioritized for a celebration but one thing I still remember that my dad always do on our birthdays is ask us what we would like for him to buy for us (food) we almost never eat food prepared at home on our birthdays because dad would buy our favourite snacks and foods to make a difference.

It was never a celebration but our birthdays always felt different when the day finally comes, especially when it's his eldest daughter's birthday (uhm that's me!) no wonder I'm nicknamed daddy's girl but I'm not ashamed of that nickname because it is just so true. Dad won't go through my birthday without getting a nag from me when he's refusing to give me a birthday package.

The package were not anything new or big but the simple act of my dad giving me the smiles and wishing me a happy birthday made it all special for me but then it's been almost five years since my dad did such for me. No, I don't blame him or feel bad about it because I still get little surprises on my birthdays from others but of course, I would be more than happy to have those old days back again.

My birthdays have always been celebrated in the most little ways but there is one I got a very rare birthday surprise, I would never had thought such a thing can also be a birthday surprise that I'll love so much. I enjoy traveling to see new places and if I get the chance, I would love to explore different kinds of meal while travelling.

I got on a car trip as a birthday surprise!!!

pexels-photo-9522110.jpeg
Image source

It started out like a joke for me because I had never had anyone tell me about a surprise as such and even telling me before it happened but it got real when I was all dressed up and I was ushered into the car for the ride. I wasn't alone and it made it all fun for me as we had snacks, ice cream and other nice things inside the car while I peered through the window smiling at almost everything I saw.

The further we rode away from home, the more unreal everything felt for me. I had recently visited the place so every tiny thing I saw was a first for me, I couldn't hide how happy I was about the ride. We stopped at some amazing places, bought stuffs and I even got a random gift, it was all fun and full of positive vibes.

I didn't want the birthday fun to end but I felt that way when it was already late at night and mum was worried at home, we had to go back home. It was the first birthday I felt too exhausted and slept off early, woke up to reply all the birthday wishes sent on my day... A rare one for me indeed, a first that won't be last I believe.

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center