Your dream in the light of fulfillment.

girl-1822525_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay

Sammy sat at the kitchen table, staring down at her hands as she nervously twisted them together. She had something important to discuss with her family, and she wasn't sure how they would react.

Finally, she cleared her throat and spoke up. "I've been thinking a lot lately about working abroad," she said, her voice shaking slightly. "I want to be a social worker, and I've been looking into opportunities in Cambodia, where you live, brother. There's a lot of need for social workers in the slums, and I think I could make a real difference there."

Her brother, who was sitting across from her at the table, raised his eyebrows in surprise. "That's a big decision, Sammy," he said. "What made you want to do this?"

Sammy took a deep breath and explained her motivations. "I've always been passionate about social justice, and I feel like I could make a real impact by working with vulnerable communities in Cambodia. Plus, I know you're doing great work as a social development planner there, and I'd love to be able to support your efforts."

Her brother nodded, a thoughtful look on his face. "I understand where you're coming from," he said. "But have you thought about how this will affect our family? And what about your safety?"

Sammy bit her lip. "I know it's a big risk, but I'm willing to take it," she said. "I've done a lot of research and I feel like I have a good handle on the situation. And as for our family, I'll make sure to keep in touch and visit as much as I can. I just feel like this is something I have to do."

Her brother reached across the table and took her hand. "I understand how you feel, Sammy," he said. "And if this is really what you want to do, then I support you. But promise me you'll be careful and not keep things on your own alone. Remember that I am always there for you."

Sammy felt a wave of relief wash over her. "Thank you, brother," she said, squeezing his hand. "I promise I'll do well there if God permits it. And I'm glad to have your support."

Her brother smiled back at her. "You're my sister, and I'll always support you," he said. "But now, we should probably go talk to Mom about this. She might have some concerns of her own."

Sammy nodded, feeling a little nervous again. But with her brother by her side, she knew she could face whatever came her way. Together, they stood up and headed off to have a difficult but important conversation with their mother.

Sammy and her brother walked into the living room, where their mother was sitting on the couch, reading something from her phone. Sammy took a deep breath and sat down next to her.

"Mom, I have something important to discuss with you," Sammy said, her voice shaking slightly. "I've been thinking a lot lately about working abroad as a social worker, and I've been looking into opportunities in Cambodia, where brother lives and works as a social development planner."

Her mother put down her phone and looked at Sammy with a mixture of surprise and concern. "Sammy, that's a big decision," she said. "Are you sure this is what you want to do? I mean, you barely know anything abroad lest any experiences in dealing with other nationalities."

Sammy nodded. "I know it's a risk, but I feel like it's something I have to do," she said. "I've always been passionate about social welfare and justice, and I feel like I could make a real difference by working with vulnerable communities in Cambodia."

Her mother frowned. "But what about your career as a teacher here?" she asked. "And what about your safety? You're still single, Sammy. We want you to be here, to marry the man you love and build your family here."

Sammy took a deep breath. "I understand your concerns, Mom, but I am still in my 20s," she said. "And getting married and starting a family isn't my top priority right now. I have a purpose, a desire to make a difference in other people's lives. I know I can be a teacher in Cambodia too, while I figure out how to be a social worker there. And I promise I'll visit you and Dad regularly, especially during holidays."

Her mother looked at her for a moment, then sighed and reached out to take her hand. "I understand how you feel, Sammy," she said. "And I know you're determined to follow your dreams and I just want you to know that I am so proud of my daughter. But please, be careful and stay safe. And know that we'll always support you, no matter what you choose to do."

Sammy squeezed her mother's hand, feeling grateful and relieved. "Thank you, Mom," she said. "I promise I'll be careful. And I'm so glad to have your support."

Sammy has never been more determined and motivated than now that she had her support from her family. Though she knew her limits and capabilities, she is fully committed to achieving her dream of starting a new chapter in life in Cambodia. She has been saving money and preparing for this dream for months now, and she is finally ready to make it a reality.

Despite any challenges or setbacks that may come her way, Sammy remains focused and determined to reach her goal. She is excited about the opportunity to work in a foreign land and immerse herself in a new culture.

For Sammy, this dream represents much more than just a purpose of the profession. It is a chance for her to discover her true purpose in life and to experience the world in a way that she has always dreamed of. She is eager to learn about the history and customs of Cambodia, and to gain a greater understanding of the world around her.

As she prepares for her journey this year and the new year to come, Sammy is filled with a sense of excitement and anticipation. She can't wait to see what the future holds.


Thank you for reading my entry for Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #11.

Happily Yours,
Sammy.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments