I was bullied so hard before..but..


pencil-1891732_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay

Unto my Limits

As a young student before, I faced a difficult challenge in the form of bullying. My classmates would make fun of me and insult me because of my dark complexion. At first, it hurt deeply and I felt ashamed of who I was. But as time went on, I became immune to their cruel words and learned to shrug them off.

Despite my efforts to ignore the bullies, their behavior continued. Even my teacher, who would sometimes step in to put a stop to their teasing, couldn't keep them from targeting me.

But everything changed when I was 10 years old. One day, a classmate who had been particularly cruel to me pushed me too far. In a moment of anger, I accidentally stabbed him in the face with a pencil. The incident shocked everyone, and I immediately felt remorse for what I had done.

After the incident, my teacher pulled me aside for a talk. "Why did you do that?" she asked, her voice stern but also filled with concern.

"I couldn't take it anymore," I replied, my voice shaking with emotion. "He and the other students have been bullying me for years because of my dark complexion. I just snapped."

My teacher listened intently and then placed a hand on my shoulder. "I'm sorry that you had to go through that, I understand that it must have been difficult for you," she said. "But you need to understand that violence is never the answer. From now on, I promise to be more vigilant in stopping the bullies and to support you."

"I know it's hard, but we need to learn how to control our emotions and find other ways to deal with difficult situations. I will be here to support you and help you find those other ways. But remember, you should always report any bullying you experience to me or another responsible adult."

"Yes, I will. Thank you, Mrs. Jane."

"Of course, and remember you are not alone. We will work together to make sure this doesn't happen again."

From that day forward, my teacher made good on her promise. She worked with the school to put a stop to the bullying and provided me with the support and encouragement I needed to move forward. And although the scars of the past could never be completely erased, I was able to move on from the pain.


guy-2617866_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay

As I entered high school, I thought that my days of being bullied for my dark complexion were behind me. But unfortunately, the same experience repeated itself. My classmates continued to make fun of my skin and my accent in English. They would poke my face and shoulders and constantly discriminate against me.

It was particularly difficult for me because English was not my primary language and I struggled with speaking it well. I often felt self-conscious and frustrated, but I tried to hold on to the lessons I had learned from my experiences in elementary school, and I continued to report the bullying to my teachers.

But one day, during a drawing class, a classmate who had been particularly cruel to me pushed me too far. He was poking my face and shoulder while making fun of my accent, and I snapped. In a moment of anger, I accidentally stabbed him in the hand with a pencil. The incident once again shocked everyone, and I immediately felt remorse for what I had done.

After the incident, my teacher pulled me aside for a talk. "What happened?" she asked, her voice stern but also filled with concern.

"I'm sorry, I just couldn't take it anymore," I replied, with my voice shaking. "He and other students have been bullying me since the day I stepped in this school. And I hate it when it is because of my dark complexion and my accent."

My teacher listened intently and then placed a hand on my shoulder. "I'm sorry that you had to go through that," she said. "But you need to understand that violence is wrong at any angle. Let's go to you counselor and let's settle this once and for all."

I knew that I had made a mistake, and I was determined to learn from it. I took responsibility for my actions and worked with my teacher and school counselor to find other ways to deal with difficult situations.

Through therapy and self-reflection, I learned to control my emotions and found ways to cope with the discrimination I faced. I also worked hard to improve my English speaking skills, and eventually became more confident in myself.

I knew that it would be a long journey, but I was determined to overcome the past and build a brighter future for myself. And with the support of my teachers and family, I was hoping for those moments.


bear-1332002_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay

The constant bullying I faced throughout my childhood had taken a toll on me, and I was starting to feel like I would never be able to escape it. So when a neighbor, who was the same age as me, began insulting me because of my messy hair and dark complexion, I couldn't take it anymore.

It was summer, and I was playing with my friends in the backyard when he suddenly butted into our conversation and started making fun of my appearance. He called me a witch and said that my messy hair and dark skin made me look nasty. I was humiliated and angry, and before I knew it, I had slapped him hard across the face.

My childhood friends were shocked by my reaction, but I couldn't bring myself to feel sorry for what I had done. The constant discrimination and bullying I had faced throughout my life had finally boiled over, and I couldn't take it anymore.

After the incident, my parents had a talk with me, they were worried about me. They explained that violence is never the answer and that I needed to find other ways to deal with difficult situations. They also encouraged me to talk to a therapist or counselor, who could help me process my experiences and find healthier ways to cope.

"Mom, can I talk to you about something?"

"Of course, my Sammy. What's on your mind?"

"It's about the bullying. I've been thinking a lot about how I've been dealing with it, and I don't feel good about it. I feel like I've become a different person because of it."

"What do you mean sweetie?"

"I mean, I've been trying to ignore it and brush it off for so long, but it's been affecting me more than I thought. And I'm sorry for what I've done because of it, like slapping that neighbor."

"It's okay, sweetie. You've been through a lot and it's understandable that you would react that way. But it's important to remember that violence is never the answer."

"I know, and I'm trying to learn other ways to deal with it. But it's just hard when people constantly make fun of my dark skin and my accent. It's like they don't see me as a person, just as something to laugh at."

"I know it's hard, but you have to remember that their words and actions are a reflection of them, not of you. You are a strong and beautiful person, and you should never let anyone make you feel otherwise."

"Thanks, Mom. I'm trying to remember that. And I'm also trying to work on myself, to improve my self-esteem and confidence."

"That's great, sweetie. And I'm proud of you for taking control of your own well-being. Remember that we love you and we are always here to support you."

I knew they were right and I took their advice. I began therapy and self-reflection, and I started to learn how to control my emotions and find ways to cope with the discrimination I faced. I also worked hard to improve my self-esteem and confidence.

Although the journey was difficult, I was determined to overcome the past. And with the support I have received, I was able to do just that. I learned that violence is never the answer and it can be solved through communication and understanding. I apologize to the person I slapped and I hope he has forgiven me.

Thank you for reading my entry for Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #14.

Happily Yours,
Sammy.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments