Words that mark - Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt # 19

When I was barely twelve years old, my body began to undergo a metamorphosis. My breasts grew, my hips became more defined, my waist became more and more fixed, I was turning from a girl into a woman.

It was a time when society was steeped in values and good manners. When a woman married her husband, she had to be a virgin, otherwise she would be disowned by her husband and society, or at least the man would be madly in love with her and would accept her as such.

One morning on the twelfth of October of that same year, I woke up sleepy, went to the bathroom to brush my teeth and wash my face. As I undressed to take a shower, I realized that I was bleeding, my monthly period had come for the first time. I shouted, "Mom, run, come here", my mother ran to the bathroom, "girl, what are you shouting from here to Beijing, what happened? My mother laughed and told me "well, today you have become a woman, from now on, you must be very careful, no man should touch your body, in case that happens, no man will want to marry you, men like virgin women". Those words were engraved in my mind and in my heart.

Whenever a young man came on to me, I was always on the defensive. When I had my first boyfriend, which was at the age of 18, we just walked around holding hands. The day he gave me my first kiss, was unforgettable, my heart jumped with agitation and at the same time I controlled the emotion, it seemed to me that his hands ran through my body, my mother's words echoed in my head, in the end nothing more than a simple kiss happened.

That's how time went by, when I was twenty-four years old, studying at the university I met Alex, we were the same age, but he was older than me by 8 months, I fell in love with him without caring about anything. Five months into our relationship, I became pregnant with my oldest daughter. I lived with that person for five years, the relationship became intolerant, we separated. I dedicated myself to the upbringing and education of my daughter, without waiting for someone to approach me with a proposal of love. Two years later, I discovered true love, my husband, who broke the taboo that a man would not marry a woman who had another man's daughter. Our whirlwind courtship, we met in February 2007, in April we became sweethearts and on October 20 of that same year we were married, we had another girl, we already have fifteen years together, defying obstacles and enjoying our joys.

https://pixabay.com/es/photos/ninfa-mujer-joven-belleza-dama-3388708/

This is a non-fiction story.
Use the deepl translator.
Use Google Docs.
The image is from pixabay.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center