The Misty Early Morning

I feel like I have come a long way out of my comfort zone for this challenge, and intend on sharing a poem I have been working on for years (coincidentally inspired by a dream - the theme for the latest challenge). Now the challenge suggests writing something that stylistically, or technically, isn't your normal forte. In some senses, this is my usual style in that it is closely inspired by nature and the cycles of death and renewal, but then I tend to doubt using this sort of structure/broken line meter, and the bled of first and second person, so in other ways this further out of my comfort zone. Ultimately, poems like this are the ones i'm least inclined to post, I tend to just work on them forever, never wanting to part with them or share them with the world but I took this opportunity to return to this and rework it. Hopefully it has found its final form.

2889305287_8babd6e0c9_b.jpg

Images Source

In the misty early morning
I will wait for you

Cities will fall to
Crumbling stone
Trees shall reclaim what
Was once home
Battles rage on in
Fire and in bone

And in the misty early morning
I will wait for you

Shadows pass us by in the
Chasing of days
River through rock
Forging new ways
Flowers lift their heads where
Each town decays

And in the misty early morning
I will wait for you

Tree spread their roots like
Breaking free
Streams trickle on in-
to the sea
The wind breathes a whisper of
All that could be

And in the misty early morning
I will wait for you

Clouds will come to pass a-
cross the land
Mountains and cliffs will
Turn to sand
The landscape will scar and
Heal anew

And in the misty early morning
I will wait for you

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center