From Strangers to Friends

I got out of the car, and I was confused; I had never seen so many cars in one place. I stretched out my hand to stop a taxi but none stopped. I began to wonder what I was doing wrong. I stood there for 30 minutes and still couldn't get a taxi. I was worried because this was my first time in this city.

men-1835901_1280.jpg

Source

A young man walked up to me "Good day, you won't get a taxi here. You have to walk to the bus terminal before you can get one". I replied, "Thank you, please where is the bus terminal?" He pointed at the terminal, and I was shocked it was just metres away from where I was standing. I smiled and thanked him."My name is Ani," and he replied, "I'm Osas". Osas picked up my luggage and said, "Welcome to Benin; I can see this is your time here." I smiled, I was happy someone came to my rescue. I asked Osas about a cheap hotel where I could spend the night and he smiled. He said, "Don't worry, I will take you to my apartment". I was skeptical about going home with him but something in me kept telling me to relax.

We got to his apartment and I can say it was moderate and beautiful. Osas quickly prepared dinner for me. He made black soup and I can tell you I enjoyed every bit of it. The soup is made from a combination of four leaves. I was amazed at how well he could cook. Dinner was over, and we sat there on the cushion, watching a basketball game between the LA Lakers and Celtics. Osas asked, "Why are you here in Benin?" I looked at him and said, "I came for a three-day vacation". He smiled and said, "You took a risk coming to a place where you don't know anyone". "I love taking risks," I replied.

I asked Osas about himself and he told me he is a Civil Engineer and the only child of his parents. I was impressed and I saw a young man who was hardworking and intelligent. He was working on a massive school project one of the biggest in the country. He showed me pictures of the school and it was beautiful.

The next day, we went to the construction site, and I was surprised at how competent Osas was and the way he interacted with his workers was unique. He was friendly and nice to all. After sorting out his workers, Osas said, "Let us go to the museum". We got to the museum and I was captivated by the rich cultural display. I learned so much about the ancient Benin Kingdom, the arrival of the Portuguese, and the Invasion by the British.

Later that evening, we went to a traditional restaurant, and right from the entrance, I was captured by the aroma from the kitchen. I turned to Osas and said, "I might end up eating everything in this restaurant". He laughed and said, "That would be you being a glutton". The music was soft and soulful. I was enjoying my holiday already. All my plans for the vacation had completely been changed. I asked Osas, "Where are we going tomorrow?" He smiled and said, "You will love tomorrow's experience".

The next morning was chilly and the trees were dancing. I was super excited. It was the last day of my vacation, and I was anxious. I had met Osas, and we struck up a friendship that became food to my soul. We had breakfast; Boiled yam and tomato sauce. It was a delicious meal and I enjoyed the boiled egg in the sauce.

We got to the Palace of the Oba of Benin and I was greeted by beautiful dancers who were dressed in beaded clothes. The movement of their body was strange as I had never seen such dance steps. A palace tour guide welcomed us and I was already excited. We took a tour of the palace and I was impressed with the ancient architectural design. I began to wonder how long it took them to construct the building with little or no machines. As we got close to the inner courtyard, I noticed some ladies were covering their mouths; the only they did was nod their heads when we greeted them. I asked Osas who they were and he said they are the Queens.
I then got to understand that the Queens are not to talk to anyone else expect the King. It was an interesting discovery and I loved the experience.

Osas took me to the farmers market; on getting into the market, I was in shock at the quantity of the food items I saw on display. We priced some food items, and the prices were quite cheap. I bought Plantain and Banana.

We got home and I packed my bags. Osas was a good host and that is how we became good friends. From a little show of kindness to us planning on a business venture together. Our friendship has grown over the years. We have been friends for five years now. Some friends are truly sent from heaven.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center