A Star is Reborn

Sirius

NASA, STScI, and/or ESA is credited as the source of the image. - src

Artist's impression of the Sirius system, a white dwarf star in orbit around an A-type main-sequence star - src


I am nothing...


I am nothing but a speck of dust inside the infinite expanse of space, floating freely, traveling aimlessly towards the emptiness of the void, ah, but I am not alone.

We are many and we are one.

Now, change is perennial and I can see us moving at a constant velocity that is only apparent in my point of view.

I am nothing but a speck of dust within the confines of space, binding, burning, creating something to fill the emptiness of the void, ah, but now I am alone.

We were many, now we are one.

Now, change is perpetual and I am moving at a constant velocity that is only apparent from a distant point of view.

I am something more than a speck of dust, a swirling mass among the stars in the orchestra that is space, changing, evolving, shining, penetrating the four corners of the void, ah, but the end is near.

Now, change is eternal and I am collapsing at a constant velocity that is apparent from any point of view.

We are one, now we are many.

I am nothing but a speck of dust inside the infinite expanse of space, floating freely, traveling aimlessly towards the emptiness of the void.


...but I am not alone


***


Author's Note


  • The prompt is: Inheritance

  • I was going to sleep, deciding not to join the contest... but as I lay awake a thought came to mind, so I grab a dictionary. Inheritance can also be defined as the transmission of qualities from parent to offspring and I don't think this is just limited to carbon-based life forms. (this is still fiction writing 😅)

  • I read a story like this when I was a kid, got no idea what it is called. A poem probably, for some reason it doesn't look like one and also feels like one at the same time... though, I don't know exactly what makes a poem a poem.

  • I have to admit I was inspired by @adamada.stem for showing me #STEMgeeks and @yaziris post Geodesics, General Relativity, And The Illusion Of Gravity! . SCIENCE! 👨‍🔬

  • I read a whole bunch of research materials on how a star is born and dies here are some: Star formation, Star, Stellar Evolution (I just had fun reading didn't need to read all that and some more) 😂



👉 Click the banner to know more about this months Dreemport Challenge 👇

All links go to Wikipedia.org.

  • The first Image on this post is in the public domain because it was created by NASA and ESA. NASA Hubble material (and ESA Hubble material prior to 2009) is copyright-free and may be freely used as in the public domain without fee, on the condition that only NASA, STScI, and/or ESA is credited as the source of the material. src

  • Dreemport logo and Ink Well logo are borrowed from each respective community for the duration of the event.

Else, pictures and banners in this post were made or taken by myself, ©@khoola. In the cases when they were taken from other sources, I stated it in the sub-caption of the pictures.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency